We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Lowry's Crab Shack

Lowry's Crab Shack
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Visiting family from NYC, great atmosphere, crabs, hush puppies, and corn fritters my new favorite place to eat, must check this place out.

Helpful?
Thank Bella505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Needs a good cleaning”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We patronize our local restaurants as much as possible. However, we've noticed the food, prices and service on the decline here. $45 for two Alaskan crab legs? Last time we visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, inland!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place is a really cute, hometown crab shack, except that it's inland! The owners bring in fresh seafood from the Chesapeake bay, so the fish and seafood are fresh. When the oysters are in season, be sure to try to oyster po'boy! Servers are armed with squeeze bottles of tartar sauce, so no need to wait for it. Also, it's enjoyable to sit outside and watch (or participate in) the other customers cracking their Old Bay seasoned steamed crabs piled high. Lots of oohs and ahs when these platters are brought to the table!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood nowhere near any water!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stumbled on Lowry's Crab Shack on a random weekend drive, drawn by the promise of oysters and the nice outside seating. Who knew, fresh crab and oysters and all other kinds of seafood in landlocked Hamilton VA! It's not about the building, the decor or the view; it's all about the seafood.
Never able to pass up an oyster, I even declined the raw for an oyster po-boy and it was absolutely delicious! It had maybe 7-8 big fat, nicely but not heavily fried oysters and plenty of lettuce, tomato and sauce and a terrific roll and cole slaw on the side; absolutely hit the spot! Hubby had fish & chips and didn't rave as much as I did. Others around us looked perfectly content picking at blue crab and passing the time away. The menu is quite large and varied with plenty of non-seafood choices also, but what a waste! Next time I want to try the scallops. We hope to be moving close to Hamilton, and I will make sure that Lowry's becomes a routine for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MlissH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seafood shack without the water”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Great food. Fresh seafood. Amazing find so far from the water. This is the type of place you expect to find near the beach. The place with great food and out door dining. Much what you would expect to find in a beach town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ewcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lowry's Crab Shack also viewed

 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Lowry's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing