We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for only half of the interactive tools working”

Virginia Air & Space Center
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aerospace museum that holds more than 100 exhibits, including the Apollo 12 command module and several IMAX films.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Too expensive for only half of the interactive tools working”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip here. Last year we read reviews that many of the interactive features were broken, but that had not been the case....this year, about half of the features were not operational. Having to pay for a child age 3 is a bit much when there really isn't much for kids under 7 (or older) to really appreciate. The museum is clean including the bathrooms. No food allowed, but there is a small concession stand for the IMAX theater with plenty of tables and chairs. Pass on this place. Save your money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123abc456de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    105
    42
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK museum”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Drove down from Williamsburg as we were finished with Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamburg (at least of what was still open). Saw it listed as one of the attractions in the area, so decided to visit. We bought tickets that included the movie "Gravity". A very nice volunteer came up to us and talked about the museum and if we needed any help. There are quite a few displays of aircraft and space equipment. Many of the displays are in need of repair. Others appear to have been designed and built by a high school shop class. The experience to Mars was pretty cheesy. Some of the interactive displays are good, however. The movie was another bust. Special effects were good, but that is where it ended. The movie we wanted to see was not playing on the day we visited. A decent museum for a grade school student and that was about all. This was a definite one and done experience for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went here with my wife and two daughters. They all had a blast doing the flight simulators and watching the 4D Imax movie. We took a ton of pictures of all of the cool exhibits. Really liked all of the space exhibits and the ability to touch all of the planes. I would recommend this to any families in the areas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Educational Fun”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a fun venue for the family or air and space enthusiast. The last few times we have gone there have been a lot of exhibits that have not been in working order which has been disappointing. As locals we frequent this exhibit a lot and have since childhood. My husband and I are 33 & 34. It would be nice to see some new changes to the facility as there have been very few over the years. This is a so so place for kid's birthday parties - We had my son's 8th birthday party here in July 2013 and the planning and scheduling of the event was a nightmare. The party itself was a blast minus the staff eating our food while we were touring the museum, We were told to store the food in a certain frig/area while we did the museum tour/events. The only thing management did for us was say sorry and they would talk to the staff to prevent future actions like this. Nevermind the $30+ worth of food they ate and the $80+ of food we had to throw out not knowing who had touched it or what they had touched. My suggestion if you have a party here because they are fun do not leave your food in the museum take it out to your car or bring just enough for the party or none at all. I also suggest you start planning the party with the party planner months in advance because if it was like my experience you may have a lot of back and forth and do it by email only so you have it in writing aka documentation because they tried to change pricing etc on me as well. Don't get me wrong this place is a fun place just few kinks when it comes to events

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank loveourweeones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
683 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Excellent, good value visit. Lots to see, so plan on a long time. Did the IMAX showing Hubble programme - wonderful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Air & Space Center also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Air & Space Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing