We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here Saturday night June 7. I was greeted with a most helpful desk clerk and also received excellent service at the checkout. The staff who managed the "hot continental breakfast" were most courteous. The business Center was not open and does not have a printer but the staff printed something I needed from my Zip drive.

The location is great and everything was clean although some of the amenities were slightly dated. Good service, good value at a great location.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are very convenient to entrance and exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Good morning! Thank you so much Myron for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!
I appreciate your feedback and we're always glad to be of service. We are working on those improvements as we speak. Hopefully, we will see changes in the near future.

It was great having you stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    3
    9
    15
See reviews for
16
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here 4 nights. I felt something biting me and found two ticks on me. Room overlooking pool on 240's side is very dark.No light comes in from pool area. Breakfast was a plus as well as location.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms on 240 side facing pool. No daylight. Room dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotter1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Trotter1300,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.


I want to apologize if you encountered any issues while staying with us. We advise all of our guests to inform our staff immediately of any questions, concerns, or issues so we can address the situation as quickly and effectively as possible. Your review has been shared with our management staff. We have not received any reports of bugs/insects in or around room 240 but we take issues like these very seriously and the room and surrounding rooms will be treated for such.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we hope you'll consider giving us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I waited for almost 10 minutes to check in because only two gentleman working front desk. In those 10 minutes two people came back down saying their keys did not work. Well my key stopped working when I came back in for the night. The door hatch would hit every time you would open the door and actually had to put your fingers in the door to push it back so you could close the door and hope that you would be able to get back in. The restroom was very small you had to close the door in order to get in the shower or use the toilet. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The hotel may be called "Clarion Inn" but it is still looks like a dingy quality inn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Sales & Guest Services Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jane R,

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered while staying with Clarion Inn & Suites. Our check-in process should take between 3-5 minutes depending on the situation. However, there will be rare occasions where a check-in can take longer than expected due to a variety of reasons such as a guest being under the age of 21 or an insufficent method of payment. The keycards have a magnetic stripe that can be disturbed by cellphones, car keys, or even static electricity which interferes with the reader in the door lock making the door unable to unlock itself. We advise and appreciate when our guests do inform our staff of any questions, concerns, or issues so we can address these issues when they happen. Our property is currently looking into making improvements so we can better meet our guests wants and needs.

Thank you Jane R for taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for choosing to stay at Clarion Inn & Suites for your recent visit to Hampton, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Everything was good up to when I found a tick on the back of my leg. Manager said there was not anything he could do. If you stay here, bring some tick, and flea killer to spray in the room.. also, the television is out of date, BIG BACK, so the he channels look terrible.. leg on my couch is broken, but they are still using it, clock does not show the time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelPicPolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear HotelPicPolice,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Our hotel has not had any problems with ticks, it is possible the tick may have come from outside of the hotel. Our hotel is treated by Orkin on a regular basis and all rooms that have had pets are treated after check-out with a thorough deep-clean.

Our hotel is currently looking for ways to make improvements and with all our guests feedback we will certainly make improvements that will better accommodate our guests.

Thank you, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have to agree with the below review. We stayed here without reading the reviews.The biggest complaints that I had with the room was the cheesy decor, big bumpy old age television, pathetic furniture and the smokey stench like someone was smoking in the room. The beds were also extremely hard to sleep on. I walk into the bathroom, shut the door, and notice something on the floor over by the wall. I walk over to the spot and realize that there were two dead bugs!! Thank God, we only stayed there for a few hours than left because we could not sleep. I can't warn people enough to stay away from this place. It looks nice on the outside but don't let it fool you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you Brenda W for taking the time to review our property. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Your review will definitely help in addressing the areas that need improvement.

Thank you again Brenda W, have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Where do I start? The hotel is old and run down on the outside and inside. I chose the hotel because they were NOT on bedbugregistry.com They first tried to put me by the elevator. I inspected the room for bedbugs, and found no evidence, but did not want to hear the elevator all night. Asked for another room. Key would not work. Got staff to room, opened it, and saw a HUGE, at least 3" long dead cockroach on the bathroom floor. Immediately asked for and received a refund. The staff was helpful and accommodating ..... but the hotel is very sorry.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you Kathi E for sharing your review.

I would like to apologize for the incidents you encountered during your brief visit. I'm glad to hear that our staff was able to help you. I appreciate you giving the time to submit your honest feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

First off the dining hall is beautiful but that does not make up for the rooms completely outdated doors hardly work I had to try multiple time just to unlock it then the lock on the inside had a screw missing and was just hanging off of the door I also witnessed the GM screaming at an employee in plain view totally unprofessional and uncalled for the GM is also very rude. Will never stay again, deffinately needs New management I feel sorry for the employees

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USNBreeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1809Mercury, Sales & Guest Services Manager at Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear USNBreeden,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. On behalf of Clarion Inn, I want to apologize that you had an unpleasant stay. There will be instances where keycards will be damaged due to be next to magnets that are in cell phones and car keys or by static electricity which causes the key to be unreadable. However, I do understand that this can become frustrating when a guest will have to have keycards reissued. Our maintenance department has read your feedback and are actively looking for new ways to handle similar situations in the future. Once again, I would like to apologize and I hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
SpringHill Suites Hampton
#10 of 26 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum

Property: Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum
Address: 1809 W Mercury Blvd, Building A, Hampton, VA 23666-3205 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center)
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Near Hampton Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coliseum Hotel Hampton
Best Western Coliseum Inn And Suites
Best Western Hampton
Clarion Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing