We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This place is disgusting! The room was filthy and there were cockroaches crawling on the walls and floor! There were people drinking and acting crazy and the police were there arresting one of them when we arrived. Needless to say, we did not stay!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Disgusting. Stained. Scary. No matter what you paid it was too much. Spots of spooge on the floor and one towel. No joke thete seemed to be hookers and Johns down the hallway. Nasty smell. Gross place. Stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cebgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Do not stay here. I deeply regret making reservations to stay for 6 nights. We were looking for a decent hotel at a decent rate with reasonable ratings. One out of three is not very good in my book. Check in was fairly simple although we found it strange they didn't ask for any identification, or vehicle license number-no means of determining we were who we said we were. After several attempts to find our room, much to our dismay it was on the second level. We had requested ground level when we made the reservation due to physical limitations. Elevator while on the premises, was nowhere close by, maintenance man helped carry bags to room. The hallways were disgustingly filthy, and a trash barrel full of garbage sat in the hall, until we asked it to be removed. Sparsely appointed and nothing like their ad brochures, the mini fridge was not cold and the seals were falling off. The microwave had moisture inside and was dirty. The bathroom is small in poor condition,but it was clean. Wall mounted hair dryer literally burned to a crisp with first use. The breakfast that is included in the room rate was non-existent. Only coffee and nothing else. We hope to speak with the owner today, but I hope to move out soon. I gave it a rating of one only because I couldn't go lower. Do not stay here at any price.

Room Tip: Best room you could get would be at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms were fifthy we had to clean with pine sol and lysol ourselves, drains in the tub were full of hair which we had to unclog! Bed was wet with yellow fluid, smelled like pee! Lots of homeless looking people using the hotel to live.Not a friendly environment for children! The manager named Karen was very rude and refused to return our money!we had a total of 6 rooms , all in similar condition! She said if we didn't like her hotel get out, when we complained of the horrible rooms.Tubs were dirty, TV not working, no refrigerators as advertised! The health department should shut it DOWN!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vharveyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for the last 10 years when it was LA Quinta and it was great. In June I stayed again when it was Ambassador and it was awful. No pillows, stopped up drain, TV didn't work for 2 days, the breakfast consisted of bananas and cereal. They served instant coffeee and instant orange juice. Won't be going back.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We found this hotel after having an awful experience at another local hotel. Since we had an event at the beach early in the morning and on a post graduate budget, we needed something. When we walked in the door, we were greeted with kindness and a welcoming attitude. We explained our experience of the night and she was more than willing to help a young couple out. She explained that her company had just bought the hotel and was working on renovating. She let us see a room with the amenities which we required and we were pleased, especially in comparison to where we had been. She gave us a very friendly rate for the weekend and let us know the wifi and breakfast details for the weekend. The rooms are definitely basic, but for the price, we were very pleased and extremely grateful for the hospitality. Well done, ma'am. Good vibes from this place and if you're on a budget it's comfortable!

Room Tip: back side of the building is quieter amore private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Made this reservation thru "bring fido.com" since we were traveling with pets. Worst recommendation ever. Room smelled of smoke no toilet paper, dirty bedspread, sticky floor. Moved us to handicapped room. No amenities. Passable room. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmm20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
1.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hampton Coliseum & Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hampton - Coliseum
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Hampton, VA
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn & Suites

Address: 2138 W Mercury Blvd, Hampton, VA 23666-3111
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: £38 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Hampton Hotel Hampton
La Quinta Hotel Hampton
La Quinta Hampton
Hampton La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing