We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep driving!! Don't stay here... BED BUGS!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Prince Georges County, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep driving!! Don't stay here... BED BUGS!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

This is the absolute WORST comfort Inn ever!! I am visiting the area for Hampton University graduation... Old and outdated.. AND BED BUGS!!! We checked out IMMEDIATELY. Headed straight to the front desk for a refund.. The clerk apologized and said "we haven't got around to rm 313 to replace the mattresses because of the problem" WHAT?? So you know you have a problem and you still rented the room? I WILL NEVER STAY IN ANY COMFORT INN AGAIN!!!! We left and went to the Springhill suites on power plant parkway.. not that's a hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panthermomatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    42
    24
    26
    20
See reviews for
66
25
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This place seems to be undergoing a remodeling- good news? not when the rooms being remodeled are across the hall from the one you're staying in. Ratt-a tatt all day. Mercifully, they desisted at night. The lobby/breakfast area was being painted and drywalled. The room was ok - equipped with comfortable beds, a microwave, fridge and in-room safe, iron and coffee maker. Everything reasonable clean. the A/C seemed to work OK- in March- but the pool was closed for the season.
Desk staff people were sullen and sour. Mostly they seemed to have hailed from India and apparently they left their smiles and senses of humor in Delhi.
The saving grace of this place is that it is the cheapest hotel in the area and is situated close to the convention Center.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIAJERO225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I cannot believe that this hotel passes inspections! Holes in dry wall, nasty carpet, furniture literally falling apart, ancient televisions with horrific picture, broken lamp, others with non working bulbs. Doors to rooms looked like they had endured outdoor weather. We checked in and out very quickly. I will say the desk clerk was very nice. I don't know where the pics on this site of this hotel came from but they are absolutely not accurate and very deceiving. I thought that because this was a Comfort Inn, it would at least be clean. We have a Comfort Inn where I live. It is a newer property and is very nice. I wonder if it will look like this place in 20 years?? Shame on you Choice Hotels!

Room Tip: Stay away from this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGoo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I rarely comment on hotels, however, you should know that the hotel is in the middle of a renovation and is not a very pleasant place to be. Breakfast is in the middle of a contruction site. The walls and rooms are a mess. We had to go in the back door because the front door was blocked.
The staff was nice but I would wait to book a room here. Call first to see if the construction is done.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The area is not bad, its close to everything you could want. The staff was very nice and helpful during my stay. I was there for 3 nights, i was given a late check out due to my flight being later in the day. When i come back to the Hampton area i will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsywoman1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I've stayed at the comfort inn in hampton lots of times. I stay because the service is great from the front desk to the housekeepers. they greet you ever time you walk in/out. its very clean, and neat, the towels and sheets are always fresh. the housekeepers dont bang on your door, and are very nice. I stayed at hotels and hampton before in they dont greet you, they are very nasty. so if you ever come to hampton va, or anywhere close stay at the comfort inn and you would be treated the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel is in a bad neighborhood...I mean let's be honest...it's bad. The rooms are only missing the cheesy porno music to film a porno movie.

Room Tip: Get a jacuzzi room. At least it is more space to find a clean spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
Address: 1916 Coliseum Dr., Hampton, VA 23666 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn is within easy access to the area's largest corporations, Convention Center, Hampton Coliseum and most popular attractions. This hotel has excellent access to I-64 and is less than 20 miles from Norfolk International Airport and 10 miles from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. Stay connected and productive thanks to the complimentary Business Center, or get some work done from the comfort of your own private bedroom to relax with the whole family. Start every day in style with a Continental breakfast. We are very close to the Convention Center and the Hampton Coliseum. This hotel is also close to Norfolk International Airport and Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, we have 65 rooms, and outdoor seasonal swimming pool and a modern fitness center. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast as well as free Wi-Fi. All rooms have a micro-fridge, microwave, hairdryer and a coffee maker. Located just steps away from the Hampton Roads Convention Center, our hotel is the ideal choice for those attending a conference or exhibition. With the Hampton Coliseum within walking distance, guests at the BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn can easily attend the concerts and sporting events hosted by the coliseum and take a short drive to the Boo Williams sports complex. Easy highway access and free parking makes exploring the local area hassle-free and puts Hampton University only minutes away. Head to the Peninsula Town Center and treat yourself to a bit of retail therapy or dining. The nearby Virginia Air and Space Center provides a fascinating look back at the history of flight, and the interactive exhibits make it fun for all ages. Step back in time with a trip to Historical Fort Monroe. This defensive site proved to be of great importance during the Civil War, and today the Casement Museum lets you relive that time in history. Busch Gardens(R) and Colonial Williamsburg are only a 30-minute drive away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hampton
Comfort Inn Hampton
Hampton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing