We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor in every aspect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel has seen better days:-
1 The carpet has spots of dirt on it.There are 3fixture brackets in the bed room with no fixtures.
2 The bathroom has afixture for a towel shelf and no shelf,a fixture for a hair drier and no hair drier,blistered paint on the ceilingand a toilet bowl that is scratched and black.
3 Does the manager/owner ever visit any of the rooms?
There was constant noise until 3.30 am.Why put families and older couples on the same floor as late night revellers?
We got what we thought was a good deal on the hotel but I would not stay there again if it was free!

Room Tip: There arn't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Michael B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy our hotel and that is so disappointing.We take pride in our hotel service and accommodations and thank you for giving us high remarks in service and location. Our staff will take the time to look at your review and make the necessary arrangements to make sure our guest enjoy their stay and do not leave here feeling the way you did.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will give us a second chance during your next visit to Hampton I would be happy to personally take care of you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

My son had an athletic event in Hampton and we stayed just one night. It was fine, room was clean, they gave me an early check in, Free parking but only because garage entry is broken and has been for 2 years. The bed was super comfortable. Cute nautical decor, coffee and fridge in room, so so bathroom, a bit cramped and without a tub (in rm 412 anyway) .also breathtakingly poor lighting in the bathroom. How does anyone approve such bad lighting? Drapes were nice and room darkening but valance was ripped out of wall. Just a small fix, are they not aware of it? Looks like they don't care when they don't fix stuff like this or housekeeping doesn't report it. All in all I would stay again but bring a small mirror to put makeup on near the window! P.S. Regatta Grill restaurant in hotel forgettable except for the AMAZING crab chowder, don't miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina view, pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danegirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Danegirl100,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted you found the bed super comfortable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Paid $69 through priceline. Would really complain of I'd paid more. Even though rooms are very outdated, service was average at best. Housekeeper was all cleaning rooms at 7:00 pm. Vowed to leave at 7- don't blame her. May explain why the showers have mold in them. Is this hotel in trouble? Not a 3.5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear tepowell,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate your high score for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made to ensure a more positive experience for you and our future guests.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more successful, please don't hesitate to speak with a member of our staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is great.

We went for their Valentine's day special which included champagne, and chocolates covered strawberries delivered to the room. We stayed on the 9th floor, which had a great view of the marina and Hampton U! And surrounding area. We live in the area, but still enjoyed it.

The room were spacious. The bed was very comfortable, and sheet clean. The bathroom was a little small and the shower's hot water pressure kind of sucked. The shower tile of the floor was really gross, so I put a towel over it to not see it. The TV was NOT digital and the channels were really snowy. The internet worked and was good.

The breakfast the next morning was complimentary and AWESOME!

Stay here if you want a nice room and good service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohtempus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will share them with the staff. Your comments are important to us and we will use them to improve our efforts. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

There was a big glob of soap or lotion on the bathroom wall.
And something sticky (gum?) on the side of the bed. Pretty disgusting. We had a big group at the hotel and some of my friends had to move to different rooms because the heat didn't work in several of the rooms.
This first morning they ran out of items at the omelet station because nobody had told the cook about a large group being at the hotel. Service was slow coming. Much better the second morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Petra0320,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very nice location on the Marina, room are open and spacious. Could use some upgrades the decor in the rooms is tired. Would also recommend both microwave and frig in the rooms would be a real plus.
Excellent breakfast in the morning, staff is very friendly and helpful. Beware of the elevator in the parking garage, it is slow and smells.
the bar is over priced for both beer and cocktails. Serves to walk the two blocks to the local restaurants with knock your socks off menu including a awesome selection of microbrews.

Room Tip: ninth floor on the south side is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our breakfast.excellent t in the morning and our staff to be very friendly and helpful.
We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This place was beautiful. Awesome view of the marina and the harbor and the price was excellent. It was under 100 a night at the time I stayed there and that's very good for a Crowne. Free parking, beautiful room. I'd definitely stay there again and probably will. Stay away from the restaurant for lunch or dinner...they can't cook. Nothing worse than biting into a half cooked shrimp.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallsfireryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Fallfireryan,

Thank you so much for writing a review regarding your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We appreciate your feedback and we take what you say to heart. What great things you said about us! I am disappointed in your thoughts of our restaurant, as we take pride in our newly designed menu, I am so disappointed that is wasn't up to par! I once again thank you for writing about the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina and the next time you stay with us I would like you to contact me personally and I will make sure your food in our restaurant is flawless.

Thank you again - Bridget Hawks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing Rd, Hampton, VA 23669-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: £67 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing