We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Plaza Hampton Marina Gets Two Thumbs Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Glenn Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crown Plaza Hampton Marina Gets Two Thumbs Down”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The rooms smelled like mildew. The bathroom lights leaked with brown air conditioner fluid. The doors jammed;and the violation of the non-smoking policy ruined my Mother's Day and Commencement dinner.

Room Tip: Each room had its problems. The first room on the 5th floor smelled like mildew and mold. Moved to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Darla D,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Thank you and we hope you give us a chance to host you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    136
    94
    46
    51
See reviews for
120
122
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of May. The parking was free, which was a nice surprise, as I was expecting to pay. The staff were friendly and polite.
Our room was on the 4th floor and had a nice cozy feel to it. The views of the marina were really beautiful.

Room Tip: I recommend the 4th floor for the marina views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCarbonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing a review of our hotel. It is appreciated.
We will be sure to share your comments with our staff here at the hotel. We wish you safe travels and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I am so pissed at the service of the front desk staff. Tonight I had a simple question about a rate to rent a room for a birthday party and FELICIA was extremely rude. She constantly rolled her eyes with a monotone voice say "I don't know" the only thing that comforted me was the girl who came out the back. I think she was eating but she took the time to come out to help and she looked me directly in my eyes and she looked very concerned and smiled. She apologize because I told her Felicia was very rude. The girl name was Opal or Oprah but she went to the back made a phone call and explained to me what I needed to know even with my attitude she happen to calm me from really spazing out on Felicia. That is the only reason I did not give u a lower grade because of Oprah or Opal. But I think Felicia should not work in customer service because she is very rude and not pleasant at all. Please do something about this!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelmanagement200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
MichaelManagement,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Our hotel is dedicated to customer service and I am sincerely sorry that Felicia didn't deliver superior customer service to you. I am glad to hear that Opal was able to assist you and I assure you Felicia's attitude is not representative of the level of service we give our customers. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina will be able to service you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I thought the staff was very professional. I checked in late,no problem. The heat wasn't working right in my room so I called the front desk in the morning. Maintenance was at my door within five minutes. After he checked it out he recommended that they move me to a different room. By the time I ate breakfast and checked back at the front desk, my new room was ready and they up graded me their largest suite. They didn't have to do that, I wasn't expecting it but they were extremely nice and professional. I'll be staying there again in about three weeks!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Derwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our hotel . We will be sure to share your review with our staff. Thank you for choosing our hotel we wish you safe travels and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

While affordable during the offseason, the hotels best feature is the marina view rooms. If you like to look at boats, water, & marina. This is a nice place and likely you could boat to it with the dock only steps away. Large adjacent parking garage is a nice feature. However, maintenance seems to have been forgotten. Our room had a cracked sink & loose makeup mirror pulling out from the wall. TV was not working properly, no sound. They must also put in the lowest wattage light bulbs. Room was dim due to this. The furniture and finishes were showning signs of wear, including stains on carpet. The one elevator platform frequenly stopped an inch or two above the floor level. Lobby seems to have received the only upkeep. Food was about average, no complaints there. The $12 breakfast was Ok. Note this time of year very few places to eat are nearby especially for breakfast.

Room Tip: choose marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Cartrek,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your most recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We agree the view from our hotel is fantastic and it gives customers a lasting impression of beautiful Hampton.
We would like to apologize that our maintenance failed to impress during your stay. It definitely is not our standards and we are so sorry you had so many troubles during your stay. This is not a typical type of stay we hear from our guests. We are sincerely sorry for these troubles and we do take pride in our rooms and their upkeep.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We hope to service you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel Thursday night March 20, 2014. I was only there one night because I came in for a panel at Hampton University.

The hotel was very clean and right on the water which made me feel as if I were in the Caribbean which I love being for vacation. I will go back and stay for pleasure the time and very soon.

The hotel was very clean and filled with very friendly and professional staff as well as other guest.

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel at all. My room was very nice and super clean with a very nice comfortable bed. It is hard for me to sleep well on travel but the bed was close to home, huge and plush just like my bed.

Keep up the great work because it's hard to find establishments with great customer service skills and everyone employee I had the pleasure of encountering had it down wonderfully.

I shall see you all soon and enjoy my stay longer.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th. floor 708 with amazing views of the skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiniJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHamptonMarina, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Dinij16,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we can thank you enough for the raving comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at this Crowne Plaza on a recent trip through Virginia. We used Priceline and were surprised to see this property listed as a 3.5 star, it did not meet those expectations. In the first room we were assigned, the ceiling in the shower was falling down. Thankfully we were moved to another room without issue, but the second had problems as well. The carpet/bathroom floors were significantly stained. The A/C unit made a very loud racket every time it came on a prevented us from resting well during the night. By the time morning came, we showered quickly and left. It was very disappointing to see such a wonderful location (right on the water, the view from our room was great!) degraded by substandard accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear ahmonroe5,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Please accept our sincere apology for the problems that you encountered. We rely on our guest comments, to let us know how we are doing and what we could do better. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Property: Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Address: 700 Settlers Landing Rd, Hampton, VA 23669-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing