We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Courtyard Hampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Hampton
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
AL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 15 July 2007

This is the third time I've stayed here at the Courtyard in Hampton. A previous review commented about the noise, and I do have to agree that July 13 and 14 were pretty noisy, but the other nights here were fine. The room was very nice and clean, and I even got a refrigerator this time. Sooner or later this construction work at the Coliseum will be completed, and this property will be even better. The staff is friendly, and the breakfast buffet is good. Go earlier than 9 AM for breakfast on weekends when there is a convention.

  • Liked — Clean, quick check-in, good breakfast, free high speed internet access
  • Disliked — Contruction work nearby
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRocketScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    51
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
25
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The only problem and kind of a big problem was the noise factor. At midnight were awoken by noisy people in the parking lot and it seemed like that went on for a while. Then the next day we had little kids running in the room above us and it sounded like the roof was going to cave in. I know noise is expected in a hotel believe me I don't normally complain about stuff like this but it was so annoying I had to mention it.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CatMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

I am always so skeptical when I select a hotel. I am extremely anal about every little thing. I cannot stay somewhere that I am not comfortable. This stay was excellent. The room was extremely clean and great linen. There is an awesome $8.00 hot breakfast buffet (grits, bacon, hash browns, eggs, etc.) and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. It is less than a five minute ride from Newport News and about 20 minutes to Bush Gardens. STAY HERE!!!!

  • Liked — clean rooms and good quality linen
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plztrustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

I stayed at the Courtyard Mariott in Hampton for a week on a business trip for a conference at thenearby Hampton Roads Convention Center.

Upon arrival, I was greeted promptly and courteously by the wonderful front desk staff at the Courtyard. The front desk checkin was quick and efficient, and I was asked which floor I preferred. The front desk also took the time to recommend local restuarants and things to do during my stay.

My room was quite spacious and well-appointed. The hotel had obvioiusly been rennovated recently because everything looked new and clean. The bed was comfortable, and there were many pillows to choose from. The AC unit was excellent and there was great water pressure throughout my stay. I never heard any loud noises, and there was a USA today at my door each morning. Internet access was free and fast.

In the lobby, there were trays of cookies out each night, and a never ending pot of hot coffee on tap. I dined at the hotel restuarant each morning, which was only open for breakfast. Breakfast was hot, fresh and good each day, and well priced.

My only complaints had to do with the cleaning staff timing - although they did a wonderful job, they did tend to arrive at my room very early each morning. They would typically want to enter and clean before 9AM each day. Of course, this can be solved by handing the do not disturb sign. Also, the road leading to the Mariott was under construction during my stay, which made exiting and entering inconvienent at times.

If I have to go to HRCC or even Hampton Roads again, I will no doubt stay at the Courtyard. I had a wonderful experience here and I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and how spacious the rooms were.

  • Liked — Size of room and comfort level
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gargamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, FL
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

I stay in a lot of Marriotts every year, but the staff at this property is head and shoulders above the rest!

From check in to check out, they work very hard to ensure you are satisfied with the service. An example: I asked the front desk for a corkscrew and while they said another guest had run off with one they kept at the front desk, a staffer went to the kitchen and searched for several minutes. She came back and said "We don't have one in the kitchen, but I will run to the store to get you one".

All of the front desk folks were great, especially Tawanda, who went way out of her way to get me a great room at 3 a.m. after my stay at another nearby hotel was so intolerable, I called the Courtyard in desperation.

You arrive here as a guest, but leave with a lot of new friends.

Stay here - you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendly, accommodating staff
  • Disliked — Road in front of hotel torn up for construction
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2006

Excellent service and newly renovated. I've stayed at this hotel on three occasions and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 September 2005

It's the perfect place to stay if you're heading to Busch Gardens and/or Virginia Beach. New carpeting was very nice---the beds were especially comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. Easy access to the rooms and the pool and hot tub were both very clean. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hampton

Property: Courtyard Hampton
Address: 1917 Coliseum Dr, Hampton, VA 23666-4234
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hampton 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hampton Hotel Hampton
Hampton Courtyard
Hampton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing