We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your average "motel"”
Review of Sans Souci Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sans Souci Motel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Your average "motel"”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a last minute weekend trip and the Sans Souci Motel was very reasonably priced to be located directly on the beach. We loved the pool, the view and the hospitality from the employees. The motel is old but well upkept outside and they take pride in being clean...I agreed until I saw the shower in our room & other rooms. The housekeeping has neglected the showers for a while. Im not bothered by the old outdated showerhead or tiles but the shower grime is another thing. The toilet & sink was clean but not the shower. I only saw 1 room with a clean shower and that was room # 208 but this room is a corner room with no view of the ocean. If they fixed this Id definitely return IF NOT I wont. Its a lovely beach and they fishing pier is very nice also.

Room Tip: Upstairs has better views. Room #208 is the cleanest but doesn't have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mailnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a last minute plan get away with the kids, the price was just right for booking so close to the Memorial Day weekend.
The place is nice and comfortable, no bells and whistles. Has a pool and a little wading pool. You can get rooms with ocean view.
Although the rooms are not smoking there's lots of smoking on the halls so be prepared for that if it bothers you.

We drove to several attractions very near by so this was an easy vacation.

The front desk ladies were extremely friendly and helpful.

So to resume, easy, affordable family beach getaway. Not for high maintenance folks.

Room Tip: If bright lights bother you, as it does many families with small children, ask at the front desk for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marga_toddle-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed at Sans Souci with my daughter and two grandkids. It was our first time to Sans Souci and our first time to Buckroe Beach. We loooved it! It brought back memories of when i was a kid traveling with my parents and staying in "Motels" It was original and clean and the lady at the front desk was awesome! We ate at "Jacks" like she suggested and it was really good, a place where the locals eat. It was pretty much off season and we had the beautiful, clean beach to our selves. I loved the little town and would consider moving there...I loved it that much!

Room Tip: They have two rooms that look right to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GRammysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

we have stayed at the Sans Souci from the late 60s till yesterday (June 28,2012) and it is not perfect but is home! The motel was built in 1965 and the baths are still the same yellow and black tile but clean and in good repair, the bedspreads are old and furniture old but all in good shape, new flat screen TV and good cable, very affordable (120) i think--just a small family run motel thats in a great location( right on the beach) clean pool, helpfull staff couldnt ask for more at Buckroe-dont get me wrong its no 5 star, but it was never meant to be its a family motel--I wish the amusement park was still there 1st rollercoster i ever rode, hanging on to my dad--great times then and now-----go see for yourself

Room Tip: room 100 looks out at bay, on ground floor, easy acsess for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We aren't high maintenence people. If you are, don't even bother with this place. It is right on the ocean and has a great view. The people are friendly. But . . . . it could have been cleaner. The sticky mouse trap under the bed kinda grossed me out. The shower definitely could have been cleaner. This place hasn't been re-done since the 1950s. That either adds to the charm or the delapidated feel. Honestly, could have enjoyed the old paneling, the yellow and black tile in the shower except for the smokers next door. We had a four people that smoked non-stop outside our door. It was hard to keep the smoke out of our room. They also talked until 3 in the morning. The second day was much quieter. The boardwalk area was charming and the beach was clean.

Room Tip: It is $10 more for the end room on the ocean. However, this is an L shaped motel and the one row si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workingkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

When I visit down here at the Sans Souci Motel i had an amazing time down there. When we went down there I the lady at the front desk. I asked her where is any good places to eat at and she said Jacks. She gave me directions and everything to the place it was amazing. Also the view toward the beach is amazing to look at in the morning with some coffee down in the office. One night we order Pizza from Rico's Pizza and they deliver right to the door. I will be going down there a lot more during the summer.

Room Tip: Higher floors greater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I surprised my mother and grandmother with a stay here while visiting the area knowing how much they like being near the beach and the "quaintness" of a beachy feel motel. I am a hotel snob so this was really stretching it for me. It just about did me in. We checked out the rooms ahead of time and we were told the musty smell would go away once the AC units had ran for a while. The accomodations are VERY minimal. The bathroom is very small and only has a shower. The sink in the room I was in really needed to be replaced, as the enamel was chipping off of it and it looked awful. I know they are trying to keep the old beachy feel to the hotel, but I feel like they need to update the rooms. The beachy feel could be maintained without having a sink that is in disrepair. All those things being said, the positives were definitely the location. Just a few steps across the access road and you are on the beach. The pier is a short walk. The pool was large and well-maintained and my kids had a fabulous time swimming in it. There are picnic tables outside the rooms and these came in very handy when relatives stopped by for a visit one of the nights. The father and daughter owners were friendly and conversational. They were very accomodating to us during our stay. Although this hotel is not what I would typically choose, it was the perfect location for visiting with local relatives, many stories were shared, new memories were made and my kids absolutely loved it. So as long as you can handle an older motel, you are bound to make great beach memories with your family while staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mission_50Capitals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sans Souci Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans Souci Motel

Property: Sans Souci Motel
Address: 312 S Resort Blvd, Buckroe Beach, Hampton, VA 23664-1252
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckroe Beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing