We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumb looking”
Review of Hampton City Hall

Hampton City Hall
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Dumb looking”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was working in Hampton when this was built and was disappointed with the design of the building in this suppose to be historic town. It looks llike it is upside down and does not fit. Hampton is very historic in history and is the oldest continious English speaking settlement in the US. Functions well as a City Hall however.

Helpful?
2 Thank JLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hampton City Hall represents its time period”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Well, what do you expect from a City Hall, really? It is an interesting piece of period architecture, has a really nice bronze statue on the side facing Lincoln St. There are a few displays inside for local activities and history but not a lot. It is the civic business center though, so if you need to do business with the city, this is probably where you are going to do it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“how the heck did they...”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

.. manage to masquerade weird architectural nightmare as the City Hall is beyond me. The architect who designed this monstrosity needs to be sent back to school for creating this abomination!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amon-Caris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton,VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

It's a City Hall. What can I say? The people are nice and the service is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scnealon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An eye sore upon picturesque downtown Hampton.”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Welcome to historic downtown Hampton, Virginia, where you can brush up on pirate history, eat the best crabcake you've ever had, and ... wait ... what the hell is that giant robot head ominously watching over the city? That, my friends, is Hampton City Hall, an archaic-looking structure that houses local government offices. "Designed" by Rancorn Wildman Architects of Newport News, it functions as primarily an office facility. It's quite easy to find, just a few blocks from Hampton's restaurant district and aerospace museum. There is a local debate over whether city hall was built 35 years ago or is actually newer and just really poorly conceptualized. When it rains, the outer concrete streaks with water stains and takes on the appearance of an abandoned parking garage. The interior has been remarkably updated in recent years, getting the latest technological upgrades for city employees. This goes against all reason, as I personally have been expecting a building so hideous to suffer a controlled demolition. I cannot vouch for the work that goes on behind the doors of these important local offices, but as an architectural marvel it is certainly a hot topic here in Hampton. Locals are unsure if it will be replaced one day with something that doesn't resemble a giant robot head, something we aren't ashamed of, but we are hopeful. I'll give it 2 stars for having a decent-sized parking lot.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTravoltasFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hampton City Hall also viewed

 

Been to Hampton City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing