We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean beach, not too busy”

Buckroe Beach and Park
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean beach, not too busy”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I took my 4 year old here after being rained out at Virginia Beach two days earlier and I was pleasantly surprised at how clean it actually was. It wasn't too crowded on the beach (the park was crowded because it was Sunday and I heard they have concerts they). The playground is also nice. Its just beach though sonot for those wanting to be in the mix of things. Loved it and would definitely go back if I'm in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    109
    42
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great beach for everyone!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Unlike the previous narrow-minded post where the gentleman stated that if your not black don't go to Buckroe Beach. As an African-American, I saw nothing but diversity when I went over the Labor Day weekend. It is free, and the tide wasn't rough!!! Quite peaceful and not overly crowded. Great if you are looking to get away from the crowds at Virginia Beach. Nice find!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrystal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was skeptical going to this beach after I read the reviews, but it wasn't far from the hotel I was staying at and I've been to VA Beach before and found it to be very crowded. I figured if the beach wasn't what I thought it was going to be I could always leave. This beach is really nice. It's free, parking is free, it's a mile or two down the road from Walgreens, etc. There were a lot of people visiting as it was a Saturday. I felt safe, the beach has lifeguards and it was a fun place to people watch. It's a great alternative to VA Beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Safe, & Free”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a great beach alternative to going to Virginia Beach and fighting the crowds/parking. At Buckroe Beach, there is ample parking and it is free. The beach has always been clean when I've been there. The lifeguards do an excellent job at keeping an eye on everything, which adds to a "safe" feeling while at the beach. There are restrooms, but I never used them so I cannot comment. There are no restaurants or major attractions like that - this is more of a beach for families or solo travelers to go for a quieter getaway. If you are seeking the loud action-packed boardwalk atmosphere, you won't be satisfied with Buckroe Beach. If you're looking for a peaceful day getting sun, in the clean sand, by the water, away from crowds....go to Buckroe!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TNharleychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delanco, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“local beach flavor”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

On a quest for an out-of-the-way beach we'd never been, I zoomed in on a map and found Buckroe Beach and Park in Hampton, VA. My husband and I made an adventure out of investigating it further and found that it wasn't bad - just not quite the experience we left New Jersey for. The beach was clean, there were lifeguards available and the parking was free as well. On the Sunday we visited, it seemed more of a young people's pick up place. There were also numerous family reunions going on and the music was bumpin. This is all good, but it simply did not make for the sort of relaxation setting we had in mind. The area surrounding appeared purely residential. There was no boardwalk or restaurants around as far as we could see. The feel was local/neighborhood beach hangout. I could be mistaken about no restaurants, however. If there were, that would give this beach an even broader appeal. That being said, we checked out of our hotel and headed on down to Virginia Beach. In short, this beach is okay, but it didn't suit what we like in a beach getaway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckroe Beach and Park also viewed

 

Been to Buckroe Beach and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing