We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”
Review of Magnolia House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved the Magnolia House!! We booked our elopement wedding and three-day stay with Joyce, and were very pleased with everything. Lankford performed a wonderful ceremony, Joyce was helpful and sweet, and Vera served us delicious breakfasts each morning. We loved our room (The Haven) and when a slight problem arose, they quickly upgraded us to the also beautiful Ellington Suite. We enjoyed the sitting room, the nearby variety of restaurants, and all the personal touches that made our visit special. We can't wait to go back :-)

Room Tip: The Ellington Suite is the most private/separated from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The Magnolia Inn experience made my five year anniversary that much more special. Breakfast was superb and hospitality was wonderful. Our first time staying at a inn and the impression will be lasting for a life time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Keenan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Everything at the Magnolia House Inn was perfect - our room, the common rooms, the breakfasts (yum!) - but the best thing about Magnolia House is the innkeepers! You know the expression, "Come as a guest, leave as a friend?" I truly felt that at this inn, unlike anyplace else. Lankford and Joyce made us feel so at home - conversations were special! We would definitely return to Magnolia House when in that area again! It's a truly beautiful inn!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband reserved the Duke Elllington suite for us to celebrate our anniversary and my graduation from grad school at Regent University's School of Education. The ammenities and were superb and the Blair's thoughtfulness and attention to detail was spectacular. We were greeted with a freshly baked strawberry shortcake the evening of our arrival. The snacks, teas, and breakfasts were remarkably divine. The house is immaculately clean and fancifully decorated. Familiar with the Hampton area we spent more time in conversation with the innkeepers than venturing out. The history they shared about the Magnolia House is one we'll alwasy remember. In all our travels we've yet to find service from any other innkeepers that can begin to compare to that of Lankford and Joyce Blair; the Magnolia House is the best of the best in Virginia's B&B's.---Alicia Manning

Room Tip: The Duke Ellington suite is the one to go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We love B&B's, but this one is unique! Magnolia House is a beautifully-restored Victorian home, filled with thoughtfully-arranged art, antiques, good books, and memories. Joyce and Lankford are not only superb cooks, they are thoughtful and knowledgeable hosts who really make you feel welcome in the home they love and part of their very special family. Any thing you might want -- from bathrobes and toiletries to reading material and tips on local restaurants and attractions to homemade cookies, extra blankets, and seasonal decorations has been provided. Each room is unique. We chose the comfortable and inspiring "Writers' Retreat" -- complete with a shrine to folklorist and novelist Zora Neal Hurston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a charming and lovingly restored B&B not far from downtown Norfolk or Hampton, VA. It is close to museums and restaurants and is in a good location. Joyce and Lankford were incredibly gracious and friendly Innkeepers, always ready to help in anyway, give directions or answer questions. The breakfasts were outstanding and Joyce makes the absolutely most amazing chocolate chip cookie in the world! We stayed in the spacious Ellington suite which had many photos of the Duke and a jazz theme. We enjoyed the photos and all of the attention to detail throughout this historic property. Joyce and Lankford have put their heart and soul into this place and it is a treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I got married at The Magnolia House Inn after we decided to elope from Canada. It was a wonderful experience. Both Joyce and Lankford were very sweet and helpful. The ceremony was very tasteful and professional. Their home is beautiful and provided a perfect environment to take pictures after the ceremony. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venusandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hampton Coliseum & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Inn

Address: 232 S Armistead Ave, Hampton, VA 23669-4103
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price Range: £115 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of comfort and hospitality, the Magnolia House of Hampton offers a unique business or leisure lodging experience & The Wedding Chapel, that seats up to 20 guests. The well-appointed parlors and guestrooms (2 queens, 1 king suite) are minutes away from Hampton University, Langley Air Force Base, Nasa Langley Research Center, Williamsburg, Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Newport News and Yorktown. Entertainment, shopping, restaurants, museums, the Chesapeake Bay beaches make Hampton a great place to visit and explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Magnolia House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing