We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, quick service, reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clementine Cafe

Clementine Cafe
Ranked #5 of 251 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Clementine is located in a revitalized downtown in Harrisonburg, Va. We offer regional local cuisine with unique and creative dishes. Clementine is open everyday for lunch and dinner and Sundays for brunch. Clementine has regional music Thursadys, Fridays and Saturdays starting at 9:30pm. Clementine boasts an urban decor with ever changing artwork and exhibits.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service, reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a local restaurant close to the highway that would be simple, quick, and fairly economical. Luckily, we picked the right spot! We started with the baked goat cheese appetizer (which seemed to be simply warm chèvre with Mediterranean seasonings stirred in)---delicious. I had the root vegetable salad which was good, but I have to admit that I expected the root vegetables to be warm and the greens to be wilted! -- instead, the root vegetables were cooked and cool, the bed of Swiss chard, kale, etc., was crunchy fresh! The dish seemed very elemental. I also tried the blueberry tea, which was amazingly tangy---really enjoyed it. Although it was lunch hour, there was not a huge crowd, probably because JMU just let out for the summer. Service was quick and attentive, and there was convenient parking behind the restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dusti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    189
    54
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant in Harrisonburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We wanted to go to a local restaurant, so we picked this from the map at the Courtyard (that had restaurants on a map board) and another traveler mentioned that her local friends liked this place. Charming interior (too cool for the patio) with paintings from local artists for sale added to the ambiance. We ended up getting two appetizers and two salads--both very good, and shared a yummy dessert special--bananas foster. Everything looked good, but the appetizers were different so we took advantage of that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was expecting this to be a great place because of the reviews, but it was basically just a glorified sandwich shop. I don't know where else these is for lunch in town, but I think I would try some where else, as it is just average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank debbiejsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“Great Environment and Amazing Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The food was absolutely delicious! The atmosphere was so welcoming, colorful, and very family friendly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymous99867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Way Good out on the Patio- out back...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Wife and I were touring the Shenandoah and spent the night in H'burg. Went downtown and ran into a lively, but noisy Sat crowd here- only downside to vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors. We opted to go through, down and out back to the patio. Best plan "B" option for a nice Spring night. Service was prompt and attentive without being intrusive. Limited menu options, but our meals were excellent. She had a tuna steak and I had tri-tip medallions with sauteed mushrooms and we shared an appetizer. Sauteed Green Beans were soggy- nuke to par-cook, then finish in pan is the way to go, chef. We finished with coffee and the well-received "Bananas Foster" and left feeling well served in all regards. The Harper's Ferry death march awaits us...don't get off the bus. All the best, G.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clementine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clementine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing