We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Restaurant in Harrisonburg”

Local Chop and Grill House
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Chop and Grill House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 259 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Noll
Description: Massive wooden door, old bricks and rustic beams of Harrisonburg's old City Produce Exchange building, the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience at The LOCAL Chop & Grill House. Bring your friends and savor the atmosphere, food and drink that set us apart from other restaurants. Our menu features fresh, hand-selected, LOCAL and seasonal foods prepared with a progressive flair by Chef Brian Bogan. Farm to Table is the mainstay of our eating philosophy. That's why we work with community food producers to support organic, sustainable, LOCAL farms, and put the finest, freshest foods on the table for you. We're serious about making choices that are environmentally sound, from the food we carefully hand-select to the aprons our kitchen and wait staff wear. Casual and fun, The LOCAL Chop & Grill House brings you world-class dining with a decidedly LOCAL flavor.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Harrisonburg”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place never disappoints! We visit The Local (the bar area) every once in while since it's close to home and our friends love it too. We went most recently for a birthday and decided to sit outside since we haven't had the opportunity before. It started pouring rain but we were protected by the overhang and the trees that just made the area feel even more relaxing. The bread with olive oil/local canola oil was delicious. We get steak when we are able to eat in the dining room because that is what you get there. BUT, the seafood that passed by looked and smelled amazing. A favorite side-dish of mine is the mac-and-cheese (this is special stuff!). Sean loves the spinach, and the grits. But really you can't go wrong with anything on the menu! Service was excellent too. I'm not sure you could have an awful experience here. You should visit, even if you just go to the bar. In which case, get the bison burger with fries...you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean and Jessic... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    84
    27
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When in Harrisonburg, this is the place to have an outstanding meal. We sat out on the patio. Our wAiter, Daniel was very friendly and attentive. The food.....so,so good. You must have dessert. I had the fudge pie...I think I would go back just to have the pie..but I definitely would go back to have a meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandrpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS & DELECTABLE!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner last night at the Local Chop and Grill House. Our waitress Sophie was very pleasant, helpful and attentive. And the on site manager was also very nice. We shared the Virginia Cheese Plate and Arancini De Riso (risotto balls,3) & they were very good. The cheeses were a sharp Swiss, a chevre goat, a hard goat, and a Red Row(?)...I loved the mild chevre & med firm Red Row. All three of us had the 6 oz petite filet and all three were prepared perfectly medium!! You get to choose the preparation: Seasonal Rub-tri peppercorn; House Rub-sea salt, pepper, paprika & cumin; & Garden Growers Rub-parsley, oregano, rosemary, sage, & lemon zest. Then you pick a sauce served on the side: four sweet & tart, four savory and three hot and spicy. Two of us had the Horseradish Creme Fraiche (creamy & flavorful, not hot) & my husband had the Duck Demi sauce. The sides of asparagus, grits (bacon) & mushroom & Swiss casserole (w/squash) were so good & many more to choose! To top the evening we had coffee and the lemon goat cheese ricotta cheesecake was sooo delicious! My friend had the chocolate fudge pie- rich & yummy! We liked it so much we may come back for seafood another night; anxious to try the trout. They support LOCAL foods and show all of that throughout the menu. Wonderful experience, looking forward to another meal! Oh, not to mention that the manager brought us another piece of pie because he thought the end of our piece was broken off...crazy good service and just super nice (not overly attentive like some staff though!)!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bingersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We decided to stop in Harrisonburg for dinner en route to Charlottesville and we were delighted by this superb restaurant in an old mill building downtown. It was easy to get to and the food was delicious. We split a main course and salad since we were traveling but did have room for wine, beer and a delicious dessert. It was quite enough for us. Our bill came to $68.

We would stop here again if we were headed this route-well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedMonkey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a lovely meal to end a long day of driving”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As usual, we consult tripadvisor to find us nice local places so we can avoid the chains. This place met and exceeded our expectations.
Although a bit pricey, my husband and I shared our appetizer, salad and main dish, and we had more than enough food in a lovely restaurant. Many local meats and vegetables were featured, service was professional, atmosphere was lovely, and we were very glad we took the time to get off the highway and find this place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Local Chop and Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Local Chop and Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing