We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Too Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Too Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I had a long drive to TN , and this hotel just so happened to be half way through and one of the only Marriott branded hotels I could find.


It looks nice from the outside, and the lobby area is quite nice.

But really, in my opinion it al ends there. The room was a good size, considering we had 2 queens, but it smelled.

The bathroom was all dusty and it seemed like someone was doing some drilling shortly before we got there and forgot to pickup their mess!

The sink area was dusty as well, and I was missing bars of soap everywhere.

The good thing was that I forgot my toothbrush, so when I went over to the front desk to get one of those, I requested a few bars of soap as well.

Front desk service was okay as well. It did take him a good 15 minutes to find toothbrushes , and then insisted on giving me two , which was nice.

Overall, service was okay. They woke me up when I asked them too, and answered the rest of my questions in a timely manner. The nighttime gentleman was nicer than the morning gentleman. He just seemed much more jolly and happy go lucky.

All in all, I would go back to this hotel if I was in the area, but I hope that I don’t have to because the beds smelled!

Sidenote: It was also quite expensive compared to the price I have paid for other Marriott's.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahadmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    108
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
110
59
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My friend and I were returning to N.C. and this stop was halfway between my cottage in upstate N.Y. and home. I am very sorry that I can not positively remember the name of the front desk clerk, but I believe it was Sharon. She was just so helpful with places to eat, and treated my friend and me like her new best friends! She was on the afternoon desk, and when we left in the morning, we asked the person manning the desk then if she had a card so we could write her and thank her. His reply--"She does not have a card--she's only a clerk". We know better--she was not "just a clerk"--she was a star. The hotel itself was very nice--lovely mattresses, and bedding, clean and cool. We had a lovely breakfast in the dining room which had a varied menu of just about anything one could want for breakfast--it was not free, but reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabellekennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast attendants are absolutely fantastic and buffet is wonderful. I will definitely stay here when I am in harrisonburg.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Courtyard in Harrisonburg, VA is very basic and offers Marriott Rewards members no incentive to stay. We are platinum members at Marriott and still had to pay for a horrible breakfast buffet. They state that they offer made-to-order eggs/omelettes, but there were no employees working at the omelette station. Furthermore, the room had an odor that smelled of septic and cigarette smoke. We generally love Marriott and rarely have a complaint. However, if you are planning a trip to Harrisonburg, VA, look into the Residence Inn....much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We spent one night at the Courtyard Harrisonburg on our way back from Atlanta. Hotel is located just off I-81 at the top of a hill which offers an amazing view. Parking is free, with plenty of spots located next to the hotel. The hotel is also conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. I want to take the opportunity to thank Sharon who was so helpful in securing adjoining rooms for us. She took the time to block the rooms, and even called me back to confirm the block. When we arrived, the staff on duty was just as helpful and courteous. The restaurant staff was very attentive and pleasant as well. Definitely a plus. The hotel has a large, open, and light-filled lobby. If traveling with minimal luggage you should be ok. The elevators are on the small side, and the main floor hallway is narrow, making it difficult to negotiate with a luggage cart. Our room was not up to the usual Marriott standards, it smelled musty and felt damp. I actually had to spray the room to get rid of the smell. There was also a sour smell from the bathroom, similar to that when fans are not working properly. I did not notice this in the adjoining room, so it may have been confined to our room. As this was the third Marriott property we visited during our trip, it was a bit disappointing. There was a work desk and separate seating area, but no microwave or mini-fridge. I can't say that I would stay there again, unless I could see a room before checking in. For one night it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have family in Harrisonburg, and this is always our hotel of choice. The rooms and lobby are always clean. The staff always helpful and pleasant. Has an indoor pool, exercise room, and nice area outside with a gazebo for relaxing. Coffee and hot tea available in the lobby. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calgrlzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for staying with us in Harrisonburg. We strive to provide all of our guests with a comfortable stay and excellent service while staying with us. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sara Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here overnight on a trip through to Florida. We selected it enroute on our IPad and the price was reasonable. Three of us (women) had 2 queen size beds, with enough room to move around in and get ready for dinner and in the morning.
Staff was helpful with ideas on where to go for dinner and there was a (not free) buffet in the morning.
Room was clean as was the lobby, bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyJ422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard in Harrisonburg. We are happy that you found our location comfortable and convenient. We strive to offer the best possible service to all of our guests and love hearing feedback from our guests. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Florida and hope that we will be your first choice for any future trips bringing you through Harrisonburg. Again, thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,

Sara Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisonburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisonburg
Address: 1890 Evelyn Byrd Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3571
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Marriott
Harrisonburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing