We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor judgement by mgmt, don't stay while construction ongoing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“poor judgement by mgmt, don't stay while construction ongoing!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

its an ok hotel, it has a nice view. but we chose to stay for a quiet weekend getaway. what a huge mistake. the construction is CRAZY, our view was of dumpsters and the noise started (I'm not making this up) at 8 AM on a sunday morning!! the thumping, a nailing gun above our ceiling, our pictures shaking off the walls, contractors rolling loud carts on uncarpeted floors...it was a joke. the front desk person was extra unhelpful, just saying "oh sorry but the manager is out of town all weekend, what can i do" at one point she actually said "perhaps you paid via third part site and got a cheaper deal" (we did not) people were walking out at 9 am. So if you don't mind an early wake up call via pounding/hammers/stomping than this is for you. Oh, the morning breakfast was a joke, the cheapest one i've seen compared to other marriotts. as long time marriott fans, this was the worst experience with customer service we've ever encountered.

Room Tip: no rooms were immune from the noise, they posted on their website "lobby construction" but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyMDCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    114
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
114
61
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

It was a good stay at a Marriott.....nothing bad to say. We stopped in for a goods night rest and we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I made my first trip to Harrisonburg to do some work at James Madison University. This was a good hotel for my purposes because it isclose to the campus and also close to the interstate highway. It's near the top of a hill overlooing Harrisburg so the views out the windows are very nice.

Check-in was simple and quick. They mentioned that the hotel has free WiFi with no need for a username/password and I had no difficulty using that in my room. The room was pretty typical for a Courtyard, containing a king bed, a nice desk and desk chair, a small sofa and coffee table, and a small refrigerator. I forgot to look inside the refrigerator, so I don't know if it is a minibar or not. The TV appeared to be a 32 inch flat panel and there were a LOT of channels to choose from.

As is typical for a courtyard, a small sink is just outside the room containing toilet and tub/shower. The shower had good water pressure and a consistent temperature.

For breakfast they offer a full buffet and also a continental-only buffet, but I didn't try either.

The lobby is prety large and comfortable, with a nice fireplace, a television, and lots of places to sit. A small business center is just off of this area.

I was pleased with my stay at this hotel and would likely stay here again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I travel to this hotel every year or so and it is always a nice experience. Service is very good and our meals were exactly what was asked for. Next time I go back I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Needed a decent room nearby a work assignment with crazy hours, so landed this at a respectable discount via Priceline. Good location, not far from the interstate, plenty of choices for restaurants (while some are very close by, the lack of sidewalks make walking inadvisable). Staff was efficient and helpful.

The rooms are nicely appointed -- mine was a standard 1-king -- tho I would have liked a little more light over the bathroom sink. Things are in good shape with only very tiny quibbles if you look hard enough (and I'm sure someone will). A plus is the free wi-fi with good speed. Comfy bed and good working heat, new flat screen tvs. Did not have an opportunity to use the other amenities (business center, pool/whirlpool).

I did not partake in the breakfast buffet ($8.95 per + tax); there's an IHOP and Bob Evans within a block, so you can take your pick if you'd rather not eat in-house.

All in all, a decent place to spend the night, but would not pay full price to do so: the Priceline price-point made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nondumblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel room is pretty spacious and bed is comfortable. Staffs could be a little more friendlier. Breakfast buffet is good at the price. Nothing really stands out from other average hotels at comparable or even lower rate.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This is a Courtyard Marriott...so much is standard.....but the Christmas decorations were so beautiful, with the fireplace roaring....we just wanted to sit in a cozy chair and enjoy our surroundings! The staff was friendly, even in the hallways with a smile and a greeting! I liked the weather being posted in the elevator also!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#3 of 22 in Harrisonburg
419 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisonburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisonburg
Address: 1890 Evelyn Byrd Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3571
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Marriott
Harrisonburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing