We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away! Needs renovation - beds have bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Stay away! Needs renovation - beds have bugs”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at another courtyard on the way down south so we thought we would stay in one headed home. This one was terrible. It is in a college town so there are many other options dont stay here. I was disappointed by the decor - it was very dated. Clearly this was apparent after we got home from spending one night here and my husband notice what looked like bites all over his stomach and arms. This place needs a complete overhaul. Don't bother staying here for awhile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marienjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any bad experiences you had during your travels. Please reach out to me to discuss. I am concerned that you may have us confused with another hotel. Our hotel renovation was completed in June of 2012 and we receive many positive comments regarding our renovations. As a hotel, we always want to know if there is any bed bug issues so that we can act quickly. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff are aware and trained to notice signs of infestation. It is our policy to always contact our pest control exterminator if we receive complaints. Our hotel has no evidence of bed bug activity. Again, please contact us so we are able to fully inspect the guest room you were assigned. Thank you.

Sincerely,

SHerbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    115
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
115
61
16
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Front office staff went the extra mile to make us comfortable and welcome.

The interactive touch screen with local favourites is a great HIT and was used to maximum effect with a one click print out...very impressed by how seamless the whole process was.

The lobby eatery looked very inviting oth for breakfast and late evening!

Keep it up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crncy1by2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and the great comments about our staff. We also like the Go Board! It helps our staff serve you better by providing up to date lists of restaurants, shopping, points of interest and much more. We hope you make our hotel your number one choice when visiting the Harrisonburg area.

Thank you,

SHerbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First time in a Courtyard by Marriott we did not expect much but we were surprised, great location nice rooms good cleaning, the room was super big and clean, the staff was very very friendly at the check in the girl was super friendly she even recomende places to eat and all that. We really like it, and Harrisonburg was super super nice. we love it :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We have a great staff and I certainly appreciate hearing comments about the friendliness of our staff. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the Harrisonburg area and hope to see you during your next visit.

Thank you,

SHerbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Easy location in newly developped area south of town close to motorway exit.
Very pleasant room, a suite in fact, with balcony, seating area, kitchinette.
Very friendly and effective staff. However did not like the Starbucks counter for drinks and food.
Have not used this facility, instead had sushi platter from nearby Martin's foodstore in the room, Also took light breakfast in room. Garbage truck could come later than 6.30 am to empty garbage containers....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding our friendly staff. We are conveniently located and hope you find us again if you are back in the area.

Thank you again for the great review.

Sincerely,

SHerbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a quick visit to Harrisonburg just to get away for the weekend. Staff was great, and the rooms were clean, I really didn't expect too much more according to the reviews. I will have to stay the mattress could have been a little firmer. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutandAboutNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for the positive review. Our staff is friendly and efficient. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable hotel. We hope you continue to choose our hotel when visiting the Harrisonburg area for a quick trip or an extended stay.

Thank you,

SHerbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a quick trip to the area from our home, 4 hours away. We were warmly greeted by staff and got to our room very quickly. The decor is typical Marriott from lobby to rooms. Our disappointment....the bed was not a quality mattress, and was much smaller for our accustomed king mattress. Another disappointment was this hotel provided NO breakfast bar, but had a bistro for an expensive charge. The rate we were charged for the room should have been sufficient for this hotel to provide a breakfast bar.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dafacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for the great comments regarding our staff. I apologize you were disappointed with the beds. Please reach out to me and let me know the room number and I will check to see if we need to replace the mattress. Our hotel was updated with the new Bistro in 2012 which is the standard for all Courtyards who have undergone renovations. It does provide convenient and healthy options. However, we understand it does not meet the needs of all our guests and are happy to point you in the direction of many nearby restaurants. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Thank you,

SHerbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is Ok but not the higher end thing you would expect from Marriot. The rooms are small. The bathrooms are very uninspired. Beige bland shower surround and shower curtains- looks like a hotel 6. THe beds are the Marriot beds so I am never going to argue with those. The breakfast area and lobby are trying to be higher end but nothing else is. Lastly the price is high

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoteenkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello,

I hope you enjoyed your visit to the Harrisonburg area. I am pleased you appreciated the very comfortable beds we have at the Courtyard, Harrisonburg. A renovation was completed in June of 2012 to meet Marriott's standards, but I agree the bathrooms are a little "uninspired". They are bland, but our staff works hard to maintain a very clean hotel. I was a little surprised by the small room comment because we typically receive a lot of positive comments regarding the size of our rooms. Our hotel does offer one bedroom suites that may provide the additional space you need. Let me know if I can assist with any future reservations. We hope you give us another try on your next visit.

Thank you

SHerbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisonburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisonburg
Address: 1890 Evelyn Byrd Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3571
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Marriott
Harrisonburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing