We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This comfort Inn was located just off the interstate. This is a college town so traffic is busy all the time. Plenty of shopping close by. The rooms were fine. I did have problems getting the keys to work. I had to replace my keys several times. The front desk was very helpful. Rooms were fine for a comfort inn. Do not let the name comfort inn fool you. I have stayed at plenty of hotels that are more comfortable. Cambria is a good one for beds that sleep well. I would stay here again if the price was below 50 dollars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    111
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
118
78
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stay at this hotel because of the people, especially Justin at front desk. It is like coming home. Beds are comfortable and breakfast very good. It's our stay over on way to Charlotte.There was a problem with key machine and the front desk handled the situation professionally

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegraduate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

While traveling to see my wife's family with our dog we stopped in Harrisonburg Virginia due to torrential rain. Since the stop was unplanned we were looking for an affordable hotel that was pet friendly. This hotel was a great find. It looked freshly renovated, with a gorgeous lobby, and very nice rooms. The staff was friendly, attentive, and helpful and I appreciated them taken care of our small family. For a pet friendly hotel the rooms looked very clean and were free of any signs of previous guests or pets. I don't find myself having to need a hotel in Harrisonburg very often since I do not live that far away but I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody in need travelling with a small pet.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank C4L-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauguay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel "Pet Friendly" and we ended up there. It was expensive, but very clean and quiet. Front desk clerk was very nice and courteous. I will go back there as we travel around that area twice a year. Lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Comfort Inn was ok, bed was comfortable, room was clean. But... the breakfast was terrible, powdered eggs. The cost was high for a low end hotel. Just not worth the money. We asked for a AAA or AARP discount, which lowered the price from $99 to $98!! The front desk clerk did not even laugh. When we showed her a coupon from a local hotel discount book that gave a rate of $69 her response was "that's subject to availability" and of course nothing was available. We found the hotel only average, pricing was deceptive, breakfast was bad (we ate elsewhere) and poor value for the money paid. There are lots of other hotels nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Recently renovated, clean rooms, reasonable (Accepted AAA discount), their is a small charge ($15) for our dog and a waiver to sign (very reasonable IMO), staff was very helpful and courteous, lots of stuff in the area - Tricky location to access, need to go down Linda Lane, make a U-turn and come back, but worth the trouble. Poor rating for sleep quality: Had some rowdy neighbors on both sides of our room the night we were there: Slamming doors, loud conversation and music after midnight. A call to the front desk, a visit from the night manager got them to quiet for a while, front desk in the morning took $30 off our bill and charged to the noisy folks. Didn't replace the sleep we lost but appreciated the staff support/customer service. We would/will go back on next years trip.

Room Tip: Ask if they are accepting AAA rates, get a first floor room for pet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Clean, comfortable. Recently renovated/updated rooms. Breakfast included. Super nice staff. Easy access to Interstate. Great dollar value. Decent Mexican restaurant close by - good food but loud music!

Room Tip: We had a king size very comfortable bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njdrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
36 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
182 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1440 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Shenandoah Valley with a great stay at the Comfort Inn® hotel in Harrisonburg, VA. Our leisure hotel is near James Madison University, Bridgewater College and Luray Caverns. This family hotel in Harrisonburg is ideal for your Virginia vacation, as we are just a short drive away from the area’s top attractions, including Endless Caverns, Silver Lake and Massanutten Water Park and Ski Resort. Other sites and attractions near our leisure hotel in Harrisonburg include: Virginia Quilt Museum, Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park, Shenandoah National Park, and George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Inn hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. As our valued guest at this Harrisonburg hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: free WiFi, seasonal outdoor pool with sundeck, fitness center, free weekday newspaper, and copy and fax services. Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to Harrisonburg begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also offer a whirlpool bathtub, microwave, and refrigerator. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Inn hotel. Harrisonburg hotels like ours ensure you have all of the amenities you need for a successful day ahead. Rested, set, go - book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing