We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad Location”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

No problem with the hotel, or the front desk staff. They are very friendly, and helpful. The hotel has a nice work out room, and indoor pool. The room I was in did NOT have a refrigerator or microwave, which is unusual for the Hampton properties I normally stay in.
The huge down side to this hotel is the location, and lack of restaurants. It seems to be an industrial/truck stop area. There are no chain restaurants close by, and 1 full service restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    234
    73
    15
    10
See reviews for
356
227
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I chose this Hampton Inn because it cost fewer HHonors points than the other Hampton Inn in Harrisonburg, so I was a bit worried of its quality. However, upon arrival, we found a new Hampton with a friendly staff and very large and comfortable room. It's right off of I-81, so we found it easily and could get on the road quickly the next day. We would stay again the next time we're passing through the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room when making the reservation - they're massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank araker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This Hampton Inn was not up to the usual standards we receive from this chain. I will say that the room was clean and quiet (as usual with their chain) and the staff was very friendly. I was not happy with the breakfast. We went a half hour before breakfast was to end and had no hot water for tea or hot chocolate. Pastries were cold, like just from the fridge which made them hard and the toaster took forever to toast. Yes, I adjusted the temp control to see if that would help but I had to pop the toast back in 3 times. The indoor pool water was cold and on a cold night outside that was not real inviting. I have always liked Hampton Inn and would probably stay in another one but would think twice about this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Maura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

5 minutes from JMU campus. Very easy to locate hotel and drive to campus. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Coffee was hot & fresh. Breakfast was the standard fair that appeals to everyone. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank marywQ4970DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I don't usually stay at Hampton. Room and breakfast were fine. When we checked in we got
restaurant recommendations which were helpful, including info on a discount.
I tried using the "business lounge" - one of the computers would not connect to the internet but the other one was fine. When we asked for extra toiletries they were supplied promptly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Bettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It is very conveniently located right off Interstate 81. Rudy who checked us in was exceptional, but the rest of the staff could use some additional training. None said good morning unless the greeting was extended first. Most seemed too busy with private conversation. One computer in the business center did not have internet access which was most inconvenient. The strangest thing about this hotel is that rooms with two queen beds have a refrigerator and the king rooms don't. It would be nice if this would change since there is SO MUCH empty space in the king room. The TV was rather small considering it was at least 15 feet from the bed. The continental breakfast was fine and they do have good coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a double queen room if having a refrigerator is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CG5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. Hampton Inns seem to run hot and cold; this one was mediocre. The staff was not ingratiating, unlike many other hotels. It is not that they were rude or insulting. It just seemed they were busy with other matters and had little time for the guest. The room was average. The bed was so soft that it was uncomfortable. The hotel had a nice breakfast. The location was not the best. Convenient to highway but nothing else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#3 of 22 in Harrisonburg
419 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Property: Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Address: 43 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing