We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The room and public areas were all up to the highest standards of the Hampton chain. Everything was clean. The bed was very comfortable (one of the main reasons we always seek Hamptons on the road), and the hotel was very quiet. Breakfast was much better than average, although it seems that Hampton has been reading its user feedback and has improved the available offerings over the last couple of years. The room price was very competitive for the area.

This hotel is located on the south side of Harrisonburg, a couple of exits away from the main area for restaurants and services. But, there are some restaurants and gas stations almost adjacent the hotel, and if you need more choices, the main exit is only about three miles up the interstate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

My room was large and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. When I arrived, the fan in my room was on on instead of auto. When I shut it off later in the evening, I began to notice a musty smell. It was late and I didn't feel like moving to another room so I just turned the fan back on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Adequate stay. Lobby and rooms were clean. Hotel seemed quiet enough. Comfortable bed. Wi-FI connection was flaky and pokey. It was usable but only for very basic browsing needs. Even some mobile pages were very slow to load. Price high for this quality of hotel. Paid roughly $160 for our room. I have stayed in far nicer hotels, in better destinations, for similar prices. Nothing outright wrong with the hotel. I think the price was jacked up due to it falling on graduation weekend from local university.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Had our adult daughter with us for a quick visit to shenandoah and needed a room for 3. It was a little tight but clean and functional and the beds were comfortable. Had an excellent breakfast before we set out for a day of hiking. Can highly recommend Hampton Inn in Harrisonburg.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Clancymom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a visit to Massanutten resort. The hotel offered a good value for the money. The location is not terribly convenient to the more retail areas of Harrisonburg which is why I rated the location as 'average'. Otherwise the property itself was fine with convenient access to the highway. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Wesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hampton Inn has established itself as a sure, dependable option and this one is no different. Very nice room with plenty of space. Late check-in, no problem. Friendly staff, clean facility. The but? The room smelled a little dank when we walked in so we turned on the fan. Loudest fan I think I've ever heard. And not like it was broken loud, just its natural state. Good thing we were tired!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We attended the JMU graduation in Harrisonburg, VA and The Hampton tripled the typical rate for that weekend and required a two night minimum. $700 for a two night stay appeared to be taking advantage of families that wanted to be part of the ceremonies.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
250 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Address: 43 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing