We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food”
Review of Boston Beanery Restaurant - CLOSED

Boston Beanery Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The food is excellent and the service is very good. I am gluten sensitive and they actually have a menu for people that have a food sensitivity. I would recommend this to anyone. One of my favorites.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's still there!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I'm amazed that the Boston Beanery is still going strong in Harrisonburg. It opened while I was there from 88-92 (I think it opened in 91 but I'm not sure). We rarely went because honestly if we had to drive somewhere it usually fell off the list...meaning we spent most of our time in bars that are long gone like JM's, Players and so on. It was a great place though and had an atmosphere that Harrisonburg needed. I also knew a few people that worked as servers and had a great experience.

Tripadvisor forces you to choose a visitation date within a year, but my last visit here was actually in the fall of 1992.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Went for drinks and lite fare after dinner”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good time, good service and good food. We just had appetizers and drinks around 9:00. Nice place, not a party hang out. We enjoyed our drinks and apps and we were able to have conversations at our table.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rerricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“To-go superstar!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I wasn't able to dine in but my to-go meal was incredibly satisfying! I ordered the prime rib sandwich with the fries. It was still hot 20 min later, fries were still crispy and it was evident care was taken in the packaging.

I wish I lived closer because I would love to try the rest of the menu. This is the place to go for affordable quality food.

Helpful?
Thank caroline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Reminds me of "Cheers"”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is great little Pub. We were heading back to Canada and decided to eat in Harrisonburg VA. It was likely by sheer luck that we ended up in the Boston Beanery. I turned in the plaza where it is located and noticed the restaurant and we looked at the menu and decided to try it. We are both glad we did. When we walked in all I could think about was "Cheers" from the T.V. sitcom. It looked like I remember the pub on the sitcom. We ordered soup and salad which we try to eat at lunch and it was delicious. The coffee also hit the spot as well. I wished that we were there for supper as the menu looked very inviting. It was decorated for St. Patrick's day and being Irish I felt right at home. Staff were pleasant and efficient. We are looking at returning there in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston Beanery Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing