We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Variety of Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wood Grill Buffet

Wood Grill Buffet
Ranked #7 of 253 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Variety of Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The buffet had a good variety of foods. Good food, service is sometimes slow. My son loves this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    101
    26
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our son loves buffets so we searched for one while out in Harrisonburg one day on our Massanutten trip. We picked this one and we were so happy with our choice. The place was very clean when we entered and you could see there was a lot of food to choose from. We were seated and our waitress asked if we wanted to order a potato? Apparently that comes with and they will bring them to your table, but we declined. We definitely found enough good food on the buffet and our son loved the chocolate fountain. We would come here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

It doesn't matter what time we get there, the food is always fresh and good. A child dropped an orange slice on the floor, picked it up and laid it on the edge of the buffet. A manager was told, he wisked the entire bowl away and came back several minutes later with a new bowl - that was quick!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Cut Above the Rest--The Wood Grill Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our family likes buffets, though I do try to avoid them as eating too much is the inevitable result. We stumbled upon the Wood Grill Buffet on Trip Advisor looking for restaurants in the Harrisonburg, Virginia area. We have a timeshare in nearby Massanutten and visit this area often.

Unlike many buffets, each table has an assigned waitstaff person. Ours was very attentive and service was first rate. The food is varied from hush puppies to steak, shrimp to barbecued ribs. The french fries were quite good, as were the homemade potato chips. There is a wide array of vegetables, multiple meat and fish dishes, and some excellent dinner rolls. Pizza is even available. Virtually everyone will find something to like here.

Desserts were remarkable both in terms of the variety and the quality. Among the offerings were several pies, as well as various cookies, cakes and other goodies. The pecan pie I had and the sugar cookies were particularly tasty.

I found the fried chicken a bit dry and different members of our party found one dish or another not to their liking. However, in general the dishes were much better than what I have found in most buffets. Even the coffee was superior to what I have had in much higher priced restaurants.

In short, The Wood Grill Buffet is a great place to take your family of all ages and a great place to satisfy the culinary wants of almost anyone, from vegetarians to meat and potatoes folks, all at a cost that will not break the bank.

Prices were reasonable as well. The bill for the four of us with tax was less than $60.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very, very good this time around!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Everything was great this time! I'm glad it was so good. The salad stuff was a nice variety and fresh and chilled. It was nice to put it on chilled plates( cold plates in the cooler next to hot plates).
The bar was well stocked and very clean. Amazing variety of foods for every taste, even the picky eaters or the health nuts. Sugar free deserts for people who need or want that.
Price can seem a little high but its worth it.
Waitress was very nice and did an excellent job. Even being at a buffet tipped her really well. They sang the birthday song and brought pie to the birthday people. A lot of people don't realize your servers only make around $2.15 an hour (or close to that amount, depending on states and areas you visit, varies a little). They have other duties other than just bringing items you may need. If they do a decent job for you, then tip them well, they deserve it! Could you imagine waiting on someone for so little!! Don't be greedy and take care of the people that take care of you.
It reflected at this restaurant today that they must have good help because it was very clean and in the best shape I've seen it in.

Can't wait to enjoy this fine restaurant again, in the past when it wasn't on its best I've said so, and this time was delicious:-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wood Grill Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Wood Grill Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing