We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for every family with kids”

Explore More Discovery Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must for every family with kids”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

All was exceptionally good and educational.....kids loved it.....what a wonderful safe place for kids to explore and learn in a fun way

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank frankiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than you and I would have imagined!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My hubby's daughter was visiting from Denver, CO. She took her boys to "Explore More" and she was so so so pleased with the experience. The oldest (age 7) was not thrilled to go, but once they got there and discovered all of the really interesting options they didn't want to leave and were ready to return the next day! They loved the "TV" experience. For those of us that no longer have kids that can be engaged in this magical place....tell everyone that do have kids!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Maryland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Kids love this place”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My kids would have spent the whole day here if they could. After 3.5 hours mom and dad had had enough. This hands on museum had a read ambulance, with medical gear and information. They had a real tractor with a cow you could milk. They had a produce market where you could "buy", weigh and then cook in a kid sized kitchen. They had an art area where the kids had a guided art project to do. There was also a Merck Lab where you learned about insects, and had microscopes and blocks to make chemical compounds. There is also a theater area where the kids can face paint, dress up and put on plays. We visited 4 years ago when the museum was in a smaller facility. My 8 year old has asked to return to this museum for the past 4 years and she was not disappointed. For parents its gets boring after about an hour. When lots of kids come in it gets crowded and noisy, but after the camp group left it was quieter. It was worth the sacrifice to make the kiddies happy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mary532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A perfect place to spend a few hours with my four-year-old. She is already begging to go back. Lots of different areas for kids to explore in and learn. And fun for the parents to participate in as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeabornDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and fun, but small”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Drove here from a campground in Luray when we were looking for something to do with the kids (ages 3 & 5) on a rainy day. The kids had a really good time. They loved shopping for foods in the market area, pretending to fix a car, exploring a real ambulance and playing in the kid sized kitchen. I knew the place wouldn't be huge from the other reviews, but it was still much smaller than I expected. But the price was definitely right - only $6 per person. The play areas are done well and it's worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank inanity101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore More Discovery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Explore More Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing