We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take your kids”

Explore More Discovery Museum
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to take your kids”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Explore More Discovery Museum is huge and filled with activities to keep your kids busy. From the news station where they can see themselves on television to the car repair shop, there is something for everyone. My girls love the farmer's market and kitchen, but usually play in every area. It can be loud and crowded, but there are always places to sit out of the way while all the kids energy is released.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun time for young kids”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We take our 4 year old here a few times a year. She really enjoys it. Lots of things the play with an explorer. Parking can be interesting, but a nice walk is always enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank JCW3-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great children's museum”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We took our seven year old son here while visiting Harrisonburg recently and he loved it. I was worried that he might not get involved with the exhibits or that there would be not enough for him to do and he would get bored quickly. That was not the case, he played forever and didn't want to leave. We would definitely recommend for young children. It is a great place for pretend play, pretending to work on a car, drive an ambulance, pretend shopping, and wearing costumes to perform on stage, etc.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“My daughter's favorite children's museum”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We have taken my daughter to these types of musuems all up and down the east coast. This one is her hands down favorite. It is much smaller than many of the ones we have been too. But it is never too crowded and the quality of the exhibits is excellent. So if your child doesn't like crowds but loves these types of experiences this one is for you!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent Childrens' Museum”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a place to take the kids or the grandkids. Very well done exhibits which engage the imagination. One of the best museums and activity centers for children we have seen. Worth a trip to Harrisonburg, and just down the street from an excellent toy shop. The kids will have a ball.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore More Discovery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Explore More Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing