We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so”

A Bowl of Good Cafe'
Ranked #38 of 259 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I don't know why others are excited about this place. I ordered the $8 African bowl and essentially got a very few shreds of chicken, white beans and rice, and a scoop of sour cream. Little flavor, so I used quite a bit of hot sauce. Tables are uncomfortably close. I left hungry.

Helpful?
Thank irunmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best & healthiest food in town!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This cute little place offers international selections, to give you the flair of faraway lands. BUT, the food is not only delicious, its also HEALTHY!!! One of my favorite places to eat!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jraotrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great food, attentive owner”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

While touring Harrisonburg, Virginia my husband and I decided to try this gem of a place. We went there during the lunch rush and ordered at the counter. The line was long but moved very fast as the staff was prepared. We ordered the spaghetti and meatballs that came with a fresh slice of wheat bread. The favor of the sauce was great! We met in line the owner's husband that had brought a friend to the restaurant. He suggested several dishes and was very jolly and friendly. We left our name so they could call us up when our food was ready. We found a table and waited just a short time for our food. However, the owner's husband was very attentive and came to our table from his and asked what we had ordered and when up to check on it. He personally brought it to our table and asked if we would like extra or a dessert on the house as he felt we had waited too long. We were tired and hungry and were very impressed by his attention to good customer service. I also noticed that he cleared the dirty dish dispense area on a regular basis and he even took our dishes away. The place was packed and everyone's food looked as good as ours. We did not have to wait long for such a busy place as our food was coming up when he went up to the counter but the personal touch was appreciated. I would go back to this place in a heart beat! Good food, good service and a kind and attentive owner and family. This business is a success in my book!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“International fresh flavors at great prices!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Delicious and different foods that are served in a friendly environment. Ask for a taste of anything you are sure about and you will be accommodated. They serve many locally sourced foods and always have great, fair-trade coffee. This is a business with a conscience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality foods”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you looking for the familiar foods - burgers etc - this is not likely the place for you. Much of there food is locally sourced and internationally influenced. Soups, sandwiches and salads with seasonings that reflect various ethnic influences.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveB6622802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Bowl of Good Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to A Bowl of Good Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing