We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College trip to James Madison University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“College trip to James Madison University”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is very convenient to the university and is a very clean and modern hotel. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    134
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
175
77
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I paid extra for a larger room. When I checked in the assigned room was very small because it was behind the elevator. The desk clerk was no help. The next morning when I complained again they offered me 1000 points which in my case is probably useless.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, PA
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn on a college visit to James Madison University. It is only about 1/2 mile from the campus, so you can't get much closer. It is a new hotel with a lovely lobby and large dining area. When we arrived, power was out at the hotel and in parts of Harrisonburg. My husband required an internet connection to do some work that evening, so the front desk staff tried to direct us to other Marriott properties in the area that might have power. Fortunately, the power quickly returned and a move was unnecessary but I was pleased by the helpfulness of the staff.
The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable, and the free breakfast was typical Fairfield Inn - breakfast sandwiches, waffle machine, bagels, etc. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were put in room 220, and since we arrived at night, we didn't pay attention to the view. Whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

New, clean, quiet, close to restaurants, comfy beds, good lighting in rooms. One complaint... The towels are very small and rough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToPSFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this fairly new (1.5 years) property. The housekeeping staff certainly keeps this place in tip-top shape. Really nice selection in the Market. We were in a room beside the elevator and I have to say that we didn't hear it once. The room is extremely well insulated from the elevator noise, so don't hesitate to accept one of these often dreaded, 'near the elevator', rooms. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. The Very Good rating, as opposed to an Excellent rating, is due to three minor points. 1. No newspapers left as of 8:30 am (even for Platinum guests) and the hotel was nowhere near capacity. 2. Diced peaches at the breakfast bar instead of the grapefruit or mango sections which I've so come to love at other Fairfield Inns. 3. The check-in person who wouldn't accept my gift card payment and pushed it off saying that 'we do that in the morning'.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undercoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a very nice hotel for the money. It is in a great location just off 81 and near lots of restaurants and other businesses. The check in was easy and the front desk people friendly and helpful. Our room was a double with two queen beds-very good sized room with a large bathroom. We did not use the pool or exercise room, but I checked them both out. The pool was nice, not too large, but it had a jacuzzi next to it. The exercise room was not large, but it had three machines and was very clean. I suppose sometimes it would be hard to get a machine, but whenever I went by there was nobody there. The breakfast is typical Fairfield, but there is plenty of room to sit and eat, which is not always the case at Fairfield Inns. And of course the breakfast is free so how can you complain? All in all, it is a great deal for the price. Worth a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a great hotel for not a lot of money! We had a room with a king sized bed and a pull out sofa for our teenage daughter. We booked online and were able to request extra feather pillows and extra towels. The bed was so comfortable - not too soft and not too hard. The shower was perfect and the large bathroom counter was a plus. A nice breakfast was included in the room rate and had a large variety of options. The desk staff was very friendly, waiting for us with smiles. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Address: 1946 Medical Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg makes travel effortless with our convenient location near James Madison University. We are one of the premier hotels in Harrisonburg, Virginia, just minutes from Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Blue Ridge Mountains, Skyline Drive, Luray and Shenandoah Caverns, Eastern Mennonite University, and Civil War sights. Our spacious suites feature separate living areas and free high-speed Internet. Unwind at our hotel after a long day in our indoor pool, pick up a snack anytime at our 24-hour market or take care of business at our business center. Our location is a great midway point when traveling through the Shenandoah Valley, offering easy access to I-81 and Route 33. Popular recreation, shopping and business attractions help inspire a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing