We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to the south. The area is very busy. As the previous review stated the hotel is on a weird property that looks like the parking lot of an old hotel. There is a Cracker Barrel within walking distance which we found helpful. The room, in my opinion, was very nice and clean. We had a queen bed with a partition with a couch on the other side. The front desk staff was very friendly. The breakfast could have been better. Not much to choose from. The air conditioner in the room was very loud but all in all we had a nice rest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I will share your comments with my staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The stay at this hotel started out badly, with a snooty woman greeting my aunt at the front desk, who intended to use a coupon. Had she said they're currently not accepting them in a kinder way, it wouldn't have left such a bad taste, but unfortunately, the woman wasn't so kind about it. It was even more frustrating when we knew the coupon was only good for this exact location, so we couldn't go elsewhere. Not to mention, we were left wondering if the coupons were a ploy to bring in customers considering at first she said they were at 90% capacity to my aunt the first time, and the number had mysteriously lessened to 80% even though we had been there the whole time, no one had checked out. Our only thought was that they may have been simply using the coupons to lure people in since they were walk-in only. Although that did leave a sour taste in our mouths, we were left with no other choice than pay full price (nearly twice the price of the coupon). Despite the off-putting beginning, the rooms were beautiful and clean, aside from the sheets that we were provided with the pull out couch I slept on (they looked a bit dirty, but it was hard to tell if it was just stains or if they were just poorly washed). The location was nice considering we could just walk next door to the Cracker Barrel for dinner. Although the eating space was small and my aunt and I had to share a chair, there was plenty of delicious food. After the shift switched and new staff was on, we received wonderful service with a smile. If you're willing to risk paying full price when you have a coupon, this is a great place to stay. I suggest that if you have a coupon, either call first to get confirmation that they can be used before you go in or stay away unless you are willing to pay full price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

It sounds as though we did not get off on the right foot with you and your aunt. I apologize for the poor communication and any misunderstanding from my staff. I am glad we contunued to improve our service during your stay and certainly hope you return again soon. The next time you stay with us please let me know personally so I might introduce myself. Thank you again.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My stay at your hotel was a good experience. I upgraded to a 1 bed room suite, however it is still very small. Fortunately it worked out ok because we were there a few days. If I had stayed longer it would have been uncomfortable. It was close to where we had to go and good restaurants.
Maid service was not good, she didn't make up the beds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will remind my housekeeping staff on their bed making responsibilities. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Thanks again.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The good: the hotel was newer and clean.

The bad: a long list. Starting with the location in a blighted area, the hotel is placed in what appears to be the parking lot of a old motel. The traffic noise in the room is huge with a major interstate and other large highways around the hotel. The noise from other rooms on either side plus from above is equally bothersome. The breakfast is not great with low quality foods, and bad coffee. We really needed rest and we did not get it at this hotel.

The price was good compared to other hotels in the area, but a good price will not compensate for a bad experience and no sleep. Like an earlier reviewer, I do not understand the high reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivyhill40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

I certainly wish I could control the outside world of truck traffic but unfortunatley we cannot. Some days are worse than others. I would of been happy to move you to the other side of the hotel to try and make your stay a little more quiet and restful.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank HighCountryDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
307 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
#11 of 23 in Harrisonburg
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg

Address: 85 Pleasant Valley Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#8 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: £61 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn And Suites Harrisonburg is located in Harrisonburg, close to James Madison University. Hotel Features: Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This property has a business center and offers business services such as printing and faxing. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include express check out, Guestrooms, and all bathrooms feature hair dryers. Wired high speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to desks, guestrooms offer complimentary local calls (restrictions may apply) and the 32 inch LCD televisions have satellite channels. All rooms have Air conditioning, are all non-smoking and also include irons/ironing boards. Guests may request wake up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Microtel Inn And Suites Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing