We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little spot”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you find yourself visiting James Madison university or just driving on Rte. 81 and need a place to spend the night, this is it. A cute little B&B with very hospitable management and a breakfast that will leave you ready to face the road or the walk at JMU. If you are in Harrisonburg, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banker708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are happy to be found! "A little spot” that many folks heading to James Madison University find perfect for their needs. JMU is a fifteen min walk from our backyard, so guests can still enjoy our gourmet breakfast and be on campus in time for a tour, or special weekend activity. We have always appreciated our special relationship with JMU and look forward to providing many more years of hospitality. We want to thank you for taking time to write this review. As always, we are curious when we fail to hit our usual five star standard. Any guidance on improving guest's experience would be a real gift to us. Thanks for deeming us “the place to stay” in Harrisonburg. We will look forward to seeing you on your next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    57
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
82
283
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Steve & Mimi - thanks for your gracious Southern hospitality while we stayed at The Stonewall Jackson Inn. You two sure know how to spoil your guests! Wayne - you've done a marvelous job recreating the ambiance and warmth of a historic bed & breakfast that touts artifacts and artwork from the period, exhibited in this gorgeous 19th century mansion. We thoroughly enjoyed spending the night in the George Pickett Room. Our stay was comfortable and quiet, Your inn's proximity to the Historic downtown area was a welcomed bonus. We'll definitely be returning soon! Deb & Tom McCarragher

Room Tip: Loved the room upstairs in the rear overlooking the renovated barn.
See more room tips
Green Features: Just like the cruise ships - you can elect to have your towels laundered less frequently to save on energy and lessen the environmental impact.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
“Spoiling” is something that we love to do here! So glad that you gave us a chance to practice our Southern Hospitality! With guests like you it is easy to do. We are happy that you enjoyed the ambiance and warmth of our 1880s mansion, exactly the atmosphere we take care to cultivate. Comfort and charm are able descriptions of our home. We feel blessed to be walking distance from the historic downtown district, complete with shops, restaurants and museums. Thank you for mentioning our ongoing efforts to conserve resources, as our “green” certification indicates. It’s a laborious task that we are attentive to keep at the forefront of our BNB experience. We want to thank you so much for your gracious words. We are looking forward to having to you back, this time as old friends. We’ll keep the hammock up for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The inn keepers are wonderful hosts and are very knowledgeable about the area. They go the extra mile. The food was great. My wife and I love the Harrisonburg area and the inn keepers gave us great tips of things to do and where to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silver0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It was truly delightful hosting you folks. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our "Breakfast to Remember" - we had as much fun preparing it as you did enjoying it! We are glad you could take advantage of our top tier concierge service. We take great pride in the relationships we have cultivated over the years and are so happy we can share them with you. We are looking forward to going another mile with you and hope to outdo ourselves on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I loved my long weekend at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. As a solo traveler, I felt right at home and comfortable here. The Inn Keepers are excellent hosts, and are very helpful with information about the town. The breakfasts were delicious and the bed was comfortable. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are so happy that you were able to spend your long, solo weekend with us. And thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We work hard to make folks comfortable and it is great to hear that you felt this way. We also strive to stay aware of all the exciting things happening in Harrisonburg and the Valley so that we can make every stay an unforgettable one for our guests. We're thrilled to hear that you will be back for another wonderful night's sleep and a "Breakfast to Remember."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is hard to beat being greeted by name and welcomed at this charming inn, located in the Shenandoah Valley. The Inn keepers Wayne and Jonathon welcomed us and created a wonderful evening by suggesting the nearby dinning of clementine's, where the shrimp and grits should not be missed. If you are a Yankee looking for true Southern Hospitality, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are so happy to have had you as our guests for your recent "spur of the moment" trip to the Valley - aren't those sometimes even better than the planned-ahead excursions?! The inn is the perfect location for a wine tasting venture, with so many wonderful wineries in the area, then several restaurants within walking distance after your day of sampling. We're pleased that you found our staff warm and friendly, your accommodations comfy, and breakfast amazing - all the more reason to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I met our daughter here, half-way between Bedford VA., and DC. It is a beautiful old home restored and renovated to reflect the Civil War era. The bedrooms were cozy and comfortable; the breakfast was delicious, but the most outstanding asset was the staff and owner, Wayne, Johnathon and Michael. There were friendly and helpful and we actually left there feeling as if we had made new friends.
The location was perfect for our activities. We were only 30 minutes away from Shenandoah National Park where we hiked. The restaurants downtown were good and the Mennonite Market was close by.
We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the common area and kitchen are quieter; as are the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynlouisesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are so happy to have had you as our guests for your recent "spur of the moment" trip to the Valley - aren't those sometimes even better than the planned-ahead excursions?! The inn is the perfect location for a wine tasting venture, with so many wonderful wineries in the area, then several restaurants within walking distance after your day of sampling. We're pleased that you found our staff warm and friendly, your accommodations comfy, and breakfast amazing - all the more reason to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful two-night stay in this lovely home, very conveniently located 10 minutes from downtown restaurants. The staff were very friendly and eager to make us comfortable. Their warmth and sincere interest in our comfort is the reason I thought of this place as a home away from home. They accommodated our gluten-free vegetarian preferences for breakfast beautifully. Our room was very comfortable with two beds and a private bath right across the hall. Staff provided comfy robes in case we wanted them for that short walk. The large parlor was a great place to sit and talk with local family members who came to visit one morning. I will look for opportunities to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are available on two levels at least. I saw a bedroom downstairs, very near the parlor and kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#3 of 22 in Harrisonburg
419 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Property: Stonewall Jackson Inn
Address: 547 E Market St, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-4227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley, on spacious, landscaped grounds. The mansion (circa 1880) has been completely restored. We are a Diamond, Virginia Green and TripAvisor Hall of Fame property inspected and approved. There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, paddle fans, desks, free hi-speed WiFi, and cable television. Our Paradise Cafe offers indoor sun-room porch and outdoor patio dining. We have an ABC license and a variety house wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing