We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was easily the best B&B experience I have ever had. My girlfriend and I we're looking for a quick weekend B&B getaway and could not have been more happy with our decision. Beautiful, historic, renovated house that is very comfortable and is an easy walk to the historic downtown section of Harrisonburg. Cozy, large yard with ample yard chairs and hammocks. The staff is highly attentive, accessible, and very friendly. Both of the breakfasts we had we're delicious and were ready within minutes of sitting down. We look forward to returning many, many times!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony2485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

What a wonderful review. We are delighted we got to share in your experience. Thank you for taking the time to put it into words. We certainly strive to be the best we can be. You gave us a real gift mentioning the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff. This place is our home and we work hard to make sure guests feel welcome and taken care of. We always want to attend to the details; plenty of lounging options, manicured lawns and flower beds, clean and comfortable rooms, modern amenities, a “Breakfast to Remember” prepared hot same day, and a concierge service that can’t be beat, are all part of the experience our guests have come to expect. We look forward to continuing your amazing B&B experience. Don’t keep us waiting too long .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were in Harrisonburg for a JMU event and chose the Stonewall Jackson because of its great reviews and its proximity to downtown. Most places we wanted to go were close by, and even though the Inn is on a major road, it was quiet and we were able to get a great two nights' rest. I really enjoyed the back porch where you could have breakfast if you wanted, or just sit and read. The room was well furnished and clean, and Wayne and Mimi were very helpful hosts, offering suggestions for places to eat and things to do. We will likely be back.
John and Becky

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Inn, it’s a big gift to us, we do so appreciate it. It was thoughtful to highlight our wrap around porch and covered seating areas. We love it when the sun is out and our guests can enjoy breakfast on the patio, overlooking our flower gardens, with the birds singing their accompaniment. We hope you were able to avail yourself of our lounge areas, complete with comfy hammocks under the shaded trees. We appreciate the mention of our recycle bins and Laundry services as well. We take great strides to maintain our “green” certification and conserve resources. It is gratifying to see others share in our efforts. We hope to see you again during your next JMU event. We wonder if you might gift us again, with an idea to improve the experience we offer. We always want the best stay for our guests and always strive for fives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very beautiful old house, renovated in a very cool way. Great breakfast, friendly people, pretty location, easy walk into town. Can't go wrong with this place. I went with my girlfriend for the weekend and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDX2DCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for writing about your experience. We hope to replicate it for all our guests. Whether its whipping up our "Breakfast to Remember", or sharing lively conversation with our guests, or sharing our knowledge and partnerships in the community, we aim to please. We hope you two can getaway for another weekend of fun and relationship here with us in Harrisonburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first visit to this area and after stopping at a few Motels I decided to give a B&B a try. I am so glad that I did, this is a nice old house with interesting features well located for the centre of Harrisonburg which itself is a bit of a star turn with cultural delights around every corner as well a friendly folk in the bars and restaurants.
All was good with the arrangements in the house and I was soon settled in comfortably, well rested after a good nights sleep they served up a stunning breakfast incorporating my rather whimsical tastes with ease.
So a good place to stay, fantastically welcoming folk running the place and a grand start to the day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get there early because they soon fill up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuftymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Welcome to Harrisonburg, you have discovered the jewel of the Shenandoah Valley! We are very fortunate to be within walking distance of all Harrisonburg has to offer; from its restaurants, shops, museums, and of course the history. We fit right into the fabric of the community as an 1880's historic mansion, brilliantly maintained, and keeping all its original structure and wood paneling. Guests can enjoy the elegance and beauty from the past without forsaking modern comforts they have come to expect. Thank for sharing and for your recommendation, we are delighted to be a part of your getaway experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a perfect country-historic-tranquil escape from the norm. I highly recommend this B & B. It is centrally located, great dinner options are within walking distance, the home cooked breakfast is superb, and the genuine nature of each of the owners (Wayne, Steve and Mimi) is endearing. We were acknowledged by name when we arrived (no introduction required), breakfast was tweaked to fit my personal preferences and it was entirely southern-comfortable. Two thumbs!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Toye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

"Best" is the very thing we strive for and are so glad to hear that is what you experienced! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings in this review. Hospitality is very important to us; we strive to keep our home warm, inviting and comfortable. In that vein, we feature an open-air, wraparound, outside seating area overlooking our 2 acres of manicured lawn. This has been a guest favorite for many years. We're happy to see that your breakfast mirrored the quality that guests have come to expect. An old, Victorian mansion circa 1880, this house has been graced by wonderful people over the years and we look forward to many more. We will leave the light on for your return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband, Dave, arranged a surprise getaway at Stonewall Jackson Inn for four nights. It could not have been a more delightful place to stay. We were treated as family; our hosts were so hospitable and warm. The breakfasts were delicious. The bed was comfortable. The décor was historical and unique. Beautiful original art pieces. Lots of light. A dvd in our room to watch a good movie. Special deals in the community for staying at this B&B. We felt like we were leaving friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in the second story back room, which was quiet and private. Lots of light as it had window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

What a truly wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We just love being a part of the surprise! Working as hard as we do, to create an inviting atmosphere that feels like home, it is truly gratifying to see our efforts are not unnoticed! We are very fortunate to live and work in this 1800s mansion, complete with a Queen Victorian flair, original porte cochere, and boasting a full gallery from the very gifted P. Buckley Moss, who is a good friend to our little enterprise. We are delighted to find your room was comfortable and you could enjoy the modern amenities we offer. Your room tip is a good one. Our Pickett and Stuart rooms are very quiet, located on the 2nd floor, in the back of the house. They overlook our manicured lawns which are highlighted by the original stables and barn. Not everyone realizes that this house was once a self-sustaining farm, and we continue part of that tradition today, using herbs and vegetables from our garden to grace our tables. We welcome you to our growing family and expect to see those smiling faces again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you find yourself visiting James Madison university or just driving on Rte. 81 and need a place to spend the night, this is it. A cute little B&B with very hospitable management and a breakfast that will leave you ready to face the road or the walk at JMU. If you are in Harrisonburg, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banker708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonInn, Assistant Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are happy to be found! "A little spot” that many folks heading to James Madison University find perfect for their needs. JMU is a fifteen min walk from our backyard, so guests can still enjoy our gourmet breakfast and be on campus in time for a tour, or special weekend activity. We have always appreciated our special relationship with JMU and look forward to providing many more years of hospitality. We want to thank you for taking time to write this review. As always, we are curious when we fail to hit our usual five star standard. Any guidance on improving guest's experience would be a real gift to us. Thanks for deeming us “the place to stay” in Harrisonburg. We will look forward to seeing you on your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
861 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
#11 of 23 in Harrisonburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Address: 547 E Market St, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-4227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range: £127 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley, on spacious, landscaped grounds. The mansion (circa 1880) has been completely restored. We are a Diamond, Virginia Green and TripAvisor Hall of Fame property inspected and approved. There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, paddle fans, desks, free hi-speed WiFi, and cable television. Our Paradise Cafe offers indoor sun-room porch and outdoor patio dining. We have an ABC license and a variety house wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing