We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay; smoking odors will keep me from staying here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Third stay; smoking odors will keep me from staying here again”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for a third time over the last couple of years during our travels to our summer vacation spot. Due to my allergies to cigarettes I requested a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. While our 3rd floor room was now "non-smoking" it had a funky "sweet" odor of air fresheners. Conversations with desk staff gleaned the information that the third entire floor was once a smoking floor. Only one room is marked for smoking now, but some smoke odors continue to persist, in all liklihood through the ventilation system when it is shut down at night. Smoking is still allowed at this hotel on the first floor which made it very unpleasant to walk through the first floor corridor to the back of the hotel where our car and boat trailer were parked. Yet again the pancake machine was not functioning (the 3rd different Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at this summer where this was the case). The bed, as always, was very comfortable as were the pillows. Because of the smoke & air freshener residue, I gave the room a lower rating than I would have otherwise. The breakfast staff and desk staff were friendly and helpful. But the persistent smoke odors in this property are a game-changer for me. While Holiday Inn Express is a brand that I stay in often, I will try to limit my stays to 100% non-smoking properties from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear kaldri01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you appreciated the bed as well as the pillows and the service you received from our staff. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room condition. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    100
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
103
59
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while our daughter was at a field hockey camp at JMU. The hotel is located just off I-81. Very easy on-off. The property is clean and well maintained. A few gas stations and a 7-11 are close by. While most eateries are a short drive away. The JMU campus is one exit away on I-81. Staff were friendly and the gift bag with water and a snack were a nice touch for reward members. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailcommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I was part of a party of 6 adults (3 couples) visiting the Harrisonburg area back in April for the Brock's Gap Heritage Days. We booked 3 rooms at this Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights, and found the stay quite enjoyable. Check in was easy for all of us, and we did receive the Priority Club Welcome Package, which was nice.

The hotel itself is very clean, quiet and comfortable. The room was sizable with a king size bed, spacious bathroom, mini-fridge, TV, coffee maker etc. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and easy to get to by the elevator or the stairs. There is a pool and a gym, but we didn't have time to use either. They both looked nice, though.

We found the staff to be quite friendly- one younger woman in particular who was at the front desk every night that we stayed was very helpful with directions, good places to eat, helped me buy stamps, had great advice etc.

The continental breakfast each morning was nice, and had a good selection- some hot items like cinnamon rolls, pancakes, and a waffle iron for waffles, also a toaster for english muffins and toast, yogurts, fruit, pastries, cold cereal and more. Each morning we found enough to eat to get us energized for our day.

The location was good for us- it was near the highway, which made it easy to get to the JMU campus, downtown Harrisonburg, Luray (about 45 mins away) Brock's Gap (about 30 mins) and Monticello (about 1 hour away). We felt safe at the hotel at all times. There was good lighting in the parking lot, and someone at the front desk at all times that we got home.

Overall, great hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippyincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed one night while visiting JMU, and this hotel fit the bill nicely. The receptionist might have been friendlier, but it was the late shift. Our room was roomy and clean - the only complaint being that the pillows were a bit small and shapless, though they were clean. The indoor pool was delightfully warm, but felt delightfully cool after lounging in the hot tub for a while. Convenient location, parking okay though highway access only in one direction. A highlight is the complimentary breakfast. Coffee, juices, cereals, bagels, eggs, bacon, and much more. But check out the Star Trek flapjack materializer: push a button, and two freshly made pancakes soon plop onto your plate!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyrdNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear WyrdNet,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. it is very pleasing to know that you liked and enjoyed our breakfast. Kindly accept our sincerest apology over the pillows. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Comfortable hotel nestled right off the Interstate in Harrisonburg, VA. Decided to take the family out to do some outdoor skiing. Once I figured that all the hotels were sold out I decided to look 15-20 minutes out of Massanutten ski resort. I found Holiday inn express which gladly upgraded my room for being a platinum member. Breakfast was sufficient. We only stayed for one night. If you're looking to save a little money by not staying in a resort. Stay at this Holiday inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMERV20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stopped in Harrisonburg for one night while traveling. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful clerk and were presented with a Priority Club package (bottled water and animal cookies). Although we've been members for a long time, we have never received a welcome package prior to this. Our assigned room wasn't ready on our arrival around 2:00 p.m., but she quickly assigned us to another room. The motel is clean and has been "kept up" even though I was told that it is about 11 years old. The breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn Express offering, which my husband and I find quite adequate and substantial. The high ceilings in the eating area offer lots of light and a feeling of spaciousness. A great hotel while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1018_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel is in a very good location for a on off Interstate one night stay. Nice and quiet rooms- even though it's adjoining a Truck Stop. The main drawback is there is no food market nearby- had to drive to the other end of town to find one!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvguyKfarSaba_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
820 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing