We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I used to be in hotels 5 nights per week. I escaped that a few years ago so it had been a while since I had visited a Holiday Inn Express. Everything about this hotel was great, starting with one of the most pleasant clerks I have ever encountered. She could not have been more helpful. The new rooom decor took me by surprise. It is much more in line with some of the more upscale hotel chains that it used to be. This property, while not in a very scenic area, is right off the highway -- very convenient. We were there to tour James Madison University which is only a couple exits up I-81. While there are hotels closer to campus, I would have to think twice before turning down an opportunity to stay at this HIE again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jocnnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    96
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
97
57
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

great location, very well appointed, Ben the desk attendant was very accommodating, free WiFi worked well for doing homework on line.. good breakfast, had to wait for delivery of yogurt but I was given some to go. definitely would stay there again !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peaksgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I love the Holiday Inn Express when on the road. At this property we were greeted by a very kind and friendly front desk staff staff and hotel manager. The property does allow dogs on the first floor but there was no odor of doggies!
Everything in this place was spotless! From the lobby to our room we could not have asked for more. Comfortable beds, quiet and clean..what more could you want? And there is a convenience store just next door.
The management clearly care about their customers experience..and it shows!

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor is you don't travel with a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolyn636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very close to the I-81 exit, this Holiday Inn Express is particularly convenient for travelers who want to take a break from long hours of driving. It's clean, nicely kept, and has a very friendly staff. (I needed an extra pillow and was immediately provided one.) It's also close enough to the downtown area (just stay on Main Street!), for anyone who needs to drive to the heart of Harrisonburg. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siguenza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snow Hill Nc
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Excellent professional staff, treated us great. Wonderful nice size room, with refridgerator and microwave. The indoor pool was a plus, and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and nice seating area. I will stay here again if in the area. Very easy access to 1-81. Good places to eat nearby. I only have good things to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Always prefer a room on 1st floor away from elevator. easy access to pool and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for a third time over the last couple of years during our travels to our summer vacation spot. Due to my allergies to cigarettes I requested a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. While our 3rd floor room was now "non-smoking" it had a funky "sweet" odor of air fresheners. Conversations with desk staff gleaned the information that the third entire floor was once a smoking floor. Only one room is marked for smoking now, but some smoke odors continue to persist, in all liklihood through the ventilation system when it is shut down at night. Smoking is still allowed at this hotel on the first floor which made it very unpleasant to walk through the first floor corridor to the back of the hotel where our car and boat trailer were parked. Yet again the pancake machine was not functioning (the 3rd different Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at this summer where this was the case). The bed, as always, was very comfortable as were the pillows. Because of the smoke & air freshener residue, I gave the room a lower rating than I would have otherwise. The breakfast staff and desk staff were friendly and helpful. But the persistent smoke odors in this property are a game-changer for me. While Holiday Inn Express is a brand that I stay in often, I will try to limit my stays to 100% non-smoking properties from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear kaldri01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you appreciated the bed as well as the pillows and the service you received from our staff. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room condition. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while our daughter was at a field hockey camp at JMU. The hotel is located just off I-81. Very easy on-off. The property is clean and well maintained. A few gas stations and a 7-11 are close by. While most eateries are a short drive away. The JMU campus is one exit away on I-81. Staff were friendly and the gift bag with water and a snack were a nice touch for reward members. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailcommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing