We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned Soft Serve”
Review of Kline's Dairy Bar

Kline's Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: What makes Kline's ice cream so smooth and creamy with an unbelievably delicious taste? It's all in the production method and ingredients. We take the quality of our ice cream very seriously. High quality ingredients and an old fashion ice cream making technique has made Kline's an institution since 1943. Unlike the more popular and profitable soft serve and batch methods of producing ice cream, Kline's employs an almost obsolete process of continuous freeze production. Other methods can yield several times more ice cream because of the air being pumped in during the whipping process. The continuous freeze method used by Kline's, however, does not add extra air to the product. It is a very slow and labor intensive process. Each location makes their own fresh ice cream each morning for the day's sales.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Soft Serve”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great local ice cream and fun atmosphere. Several locations--also in Staunton. Just a few flavors, but all great!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivgoesvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    29
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Always keep an eye on the favor of the week, love trying out the new flavors. They are all great! Highly recommend for everyone to stop by and become a regular!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-W, Ontario
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I both had sundaes. We had heard about their chocolate peanut butter ice cream but it wasn't available that week (specialty flavors rotate availability). I instead had peanut butter sauce and strawberries. It was fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i_yac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The BEST Ice Cream”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

You simply can't beat Kline's soft served ice cream, sundaes and malts. Even on a busy night, their service is prompt and courteous. Still, you don't mind waiting because you are likely to run into friends there, even if you are from out of town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Raved about the ice cream all the way home.....”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The small is huge. The medium is even larger, and the large......lets just say I hope you have a second stomach!

Even my lactose intolerant spouse LOVED IT and would suffer again just to have another cone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upstatejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kline's Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kline's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing