We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located in countryside. Lovely grounds, etc. We loved the large room which was much larger than most hotel rooms. The breakfast buffet was not included in the room price. We didn't eat breakfast there but a local who recommended the Inn said it was good.
The downside was the smell outside. There was a pool and children's play area but we couldn't go outside our room it smelled so bad outside. Maybe local chicken houses- not sure. Hopefully, it is OK when the wind is blowing in a different direction. Our room didn't smell. Despite the smell, we'd stay there again. If we were staying for several days. However, I'd have to see how it was smelling. Some rooms appeared to have decks but we didn't have one so I can't comment. Our bathroom had a whirlpool bath but we didn't try.

Room Tip: Some rooms had decks. Other rooms without decks were directly across from the outdoor pool and chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveLife75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Village Inn of Harrisonburg, Va. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel with our quiet, spacious rooms and your interactions with the staff; we strive to offer our guests all of the amenities of home. Harrisonburg is located in an agricultural area. For a very short period of time in the spring, farmers do treat their fields. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to the Shenandoah Valley and hope you will enjoy your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My boyfriend lives in MD in the summer, I live in Blacksburg. We met halfway at this Inn for a weekend together.

The room was clean and cute. A little outdated but that doesn't really bother me. The bed was comfortable and the view was nice (we requested a room away from the road). The microwave and mini-fridge came in handy as we ate out Friday night then refrigerated and reheated the leftovers the next day.

Breakfast was delicious. Wasn't included in the price of the room, but both prices were very reasonable to begin with (cheap enough to two college students!) so it wasn't an issue. We arrived in the last half hour of breakfast and there was still plenty of delicious, nothing had run out.

We requested a late check out which we were given, which was awesome. Also very convenient location to 81 and the main part of Harrisonburg with all the stores and restaurants is just a few minutes down the road.

The only real hang up was the tub. We picked a whirlpool tub over a deck and discovered that it's very smaller, smaller even than a standard tub. My boyfriend is 6'3" and I am 6'1" so we ended up not getting to enjoy the tub at all. Next time, we will definitely get a deck, which are bigger than usual decks and look perfect to sit out on and look at the view.

Will stay again!

Room Tip: Away from the road with a deck (the whirlpool tub is smaller than a standard tub).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

-Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Inn. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The private decks that overlook the pastoral setting and our outdoor hot tub really are a great way to relax and unwind. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've stayed here 20 times over the last 30 years, because I am convinced this is truly no equal at that price (comparable to to Red Roof, Days Inn in price). The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is not free, but is exceptional, especially the sausage patties. A great place to break up a driving trip.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-Way3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to deliver a great vacation experience to all of our guests and are always happy to know when we succeed. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just south of the city, but very convenient to hiking, farmer's market, and all that Harrisonburg has to offer. Very nice deck out back of room. Relaxing pool with hot tub. Great value. Everyone we encountered on staff from the front desk to the restaurant were so nice and welcoming!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivgoesvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What should have been a lovely stay was less than ideal due to no hot water in our unit. Understandable that unexpected problems will arise in this business but NO discount on the room was offered. We paid close to $95 a night for a room that only had cold water. No shower or bath could be taken and we had traveled for hours. When asked if there would be a discount, we were told we could have a complimentary breakfast. Hardly makes up for no hot water. Sorry to give an otherwise decent place a low rating but the lack of compensation was notable.

Room Tip: Ask if there is hot water in all units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for staying at The Village Inn and I deeply regret that you did not have hot water for a shower the morning of Monday, May 19th. I empathize with you and fully agree that a luke-warm or cold shower is no way to start the day.

The local gas company had not made their automatic fill-up of our tanks leaving the Inn with 3 empty gas tanks for our hot water heater. As soon as I became aware of the problem at 6:15 am, I was in contact with the gas company. I have been assured by the gas company manager that this problem will not occur again.

To remediate the inconvenience to our guests, we offered to guests rooms in an unaffected part of the Inn for their morning showers. The full country breakfast buffet is valued at $20.00 for two guests and we also offered this buffet to affected guests at no charge.

We strive to provide our guests a relaxing stay with all of the conveniences that you would expect from a three-diamond rated Inn. I hope that you will return to stay with us again.

Kevin Early, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recently renovated, very clean, with refrigerator and micro. Private deck outside of room with beautiful view. The beds were new and very comfy. Didn't have time to eat in the dining room but heard that the food was great. I would recommend this place to anyone and I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Village Inn of Harrisonburg, Va. Our private decks that overlook the pastoral setting really are a great place to relax and unwind. The next time that you're here, we hope that you will be able to join us for a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner in our dining room. We are all pleased that you had such a positive experience and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A couple miles outside the city center it is well worth the extra drive. Very, very nice rooms. Spacious, extremely clean, a very nice restaurant attached (plan to do breakfast tomorrow).
Outstanding value for the costs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GANDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Inn. Our hotel is located in a quieter part of the Harrisonburg area and is centrally located to all of the area attractions. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Harrisonburg
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 23 in Harrisonburg
324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing