We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprize”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprize”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

While traveling without my husband, I was leery to stay at a place that was not a chain. I could not have been happier with my stay. The facilities were great with a playground and a pool. They also had a putting green and a few other things. The rooms were clean and the towels were heavenly. I loved the family owned feeling and loved the beautiful location. We will put it on our list as a repeat for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Inn. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our motel is now managed by the 3rd generations of Early's who try to ensure that our guests have all of the comforts of home while staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    127
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
137
171
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Village Inn has been here outside of the city of Harrisonburg forever. It's a friendly place that feels like home. The rooms are nice with attention to details and extras. There is a balcony or deck where I sat and watched the fireflies sparkle over the lawn. In the early morn I opened the balcony door. Through the screen door, I listened to the bird singing. I didn't need the microwave or the frig., being content with the simple comforts of the room. I have dined at their restaurant before which was fine. This time I just had their country breakfast. You know, the biscuits with sausage gravy and grits. Another comfortable moment with coffee being poured promptly and quietly.

Room Tip: Rooms bordering the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Village Inn of Harrisonburg, Va . We strive to deliver a great vacation experience to all of our guests and are always happy to know when we succeed. Our decks offer a wonderful area to relax and unwind--glad you were able to experience the summer evening fireflies and were serenaded in the morning by the birds, We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed for a night, passing through VA.

It is a very charming motel, and you can tell that it is family owned. The staff are very friendly, the room was very clean, and there were nice little decorating touches that tell you they actually care about their business.


On top of that, they are pet-friendly but did NOT charge a pet fee.


We will probably go out of our way to stay here again next time we pass through VA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Village Inn of Harrisonburg, Va. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel with our quiet, spacious rooms; we strive to offer our guests all of the amenities of home. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to the Shenandoah Valley and hope you will enjoy your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have to admit, my initial feeling on pulling in was that our room would be outdated. Was I ever wrong!
The staff here is absolutely lovely, kind and helpful - bar none.
The room was spacious, immaculate and came with a jetted tub - who doesn't love that after a long commute? We slept well and comfortably (not crazy about the slightly itchy top quilt but thats me).
After a slow wake up, a walk around the back of the property we decided that instead of hitting the road we would check out the breakfast buffet. So glad we did! Home cooking always beats the tar out of chain food and this buffet is A#1 in our opinion. It was clear that the ladies working the restaurant that morning had worked together for a bit, watching them work was like watching a sweet ballet.
My only even slightly negative comment would be the misleading sky shot of the property which leads you to believe it is more isolated / rural.
We will definitely be repeat customers and next time will opt for one of the rooms facing the back field with a deck.
Well done Early family, and we loved the family and hotel history in the room - made us feel like you were welcoming us as friends.

Room Tip: We had a front (highway) facing room - if you can get a back room with a deck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellymc125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We're blessed to have long-time staff who take great pride in their jobs, making our guests feel welcome, and providing a clean, comfortable stay with us. Our sumptuous country buffet featuring omelet, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fried apples, sausage gravy, hotcakes, fried potatoes, french toast, oatmeal, grits, toast, English muffins, and an assortment of fruit is sure to offer a good start on the day. We strive to offer our guests all the comforts of home and are all pleased that you had such a positive experience and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was Harrisonburg with my family to visit friends. So glad our friends recommended we stay here. This motel is on the southern edge of Harrisonburg - close to JMU & I-81 by car. This is not a posh, city hotel, but it is a classic, relaxing motel that appears to be loved by its owners.

We had a spacious room with 2 queen beds. The room was fairly simple, but had all the basic amenities (hairdryer, iron, coffee pot, fridge), and a tub with whirlpool jets that my kids enjoyed. Everything was very clean even in the crevices. The sheets were crisp and clean, but maybe could have been softer.

In the morning I enjoyed sitting outside before my family awoke. While I could see a few businesses, most of the view is of farmland. Outside there is also a pool (I didn't use since I wasn't staying long), a basketball hoop, corn hole, modern playground equipment, old fashioned seesaws, shuffle board and a putting green.

One final note: This motel, its parking lot and its neighborhood felt very safe to me. The next time I am heading to Harrisonburg, I will plan to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Village Inn of Harrisonburg, Va.
Our hotel is located in a quieter part of the Harrisonburg area and is centrally located to all of the area attractions. The private decks that overlook the pastoral setting really are a great place to relax and unwind. As the third generation of the Early's to own the business, we strive to offer our guests a quiet, comfortable, relaxing stay with all of the amenities of home. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Village Inn for a wedding. The price was right, the room spacious and clean. The staff were welcoming and efficient. The inn was close to the town of Bridgewater, which was quaint. There were cute shops and the town like a slice of Americana. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babesVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Village Inn of Harrisonburg. We strive to deliver a great vacation experience to all of our guests and are always happy to know when we succeed. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We enjoy staying at The Village Inn. The Inn is easily accessible from the interstate and is close to the city of Harrisonburg. The rooms are always clean, quiet, and comfortable as well as spacious. We usually get a room with a small deck off the back. There is a pool and on-site restaurant. The breakfast buffet is ample and good. The staff is friendly and helpful. We always stay here on our travels whenever possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a deck if available and if the weather is good. That is a nice place to relax even if the sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Inn and for taking the time to write a review. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The rooms with decks overlooking the countryside offer a wonderful opportunity to relax. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing