We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time hot dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jess' Lunch

Jess' Lunch
Ranked #61 of 253 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old time hot dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Old time hot dogs, fast service & friendly people are all at Jess' Lunch # 2 on Market St in Harrisonburg. Stumbled upon this diner and glad I did. Prices are great!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Greatest Restaurant in The World (to me)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have eaten at many of the best restaurants in America (Alinea, The Inn at Little Washington, Komi) and at Michelin three-starred restaurants in Europe. And I still haven't had a meal I enjoy more than a chili dog, french fries, and a Dr. Pepper at Jess' Quick Lunch! It's a dive, for sure. But damned if those chili dogs aren't delicious! I have spent time in Chicago and sampled many of the Windy City's best encased meat offerings. I live in DC and I frequent Ben's Chili Bowl--which is great. But at the end of the day, you just can't beat a Jess' chili dog. My heart will break if Jess' Quick Lunch ever closes. (And my heart would probably explode if I lived in Harrisonburg and could eat there more frequently!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex_B_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sidney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

No need for a menu here. Great hot dogs and thick milkshakes served by local girls and JMU students. A Harrisonburg must.

Helpful?
1 Thank BillDMtSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ga
Level Contributor
274 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Bring your ID regardless of your age. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I was refused service by a child young enough to be my grandchild that insisted on carding me. Save yourself a some humiliation by going 50 yards south to Jack Brown's.

Helpful?
Thank 04DTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A local tradition!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Every time I return to Hburg, I eat at Jess' lunch. Yes, it specializes in plain old chili hotdogs and french fries, but I've been eating at Jess' for 60 years! Truthfully, I've eaten at a lot of hotdog places, but none come close to Jess'. There is one near the mall, but if you get a chance go down to Court Square (downtown Hburg) and eat there. Little has changed in those 60 years, and they have some great burgers as well. Very few restaurants survive as long as Jess'!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Turner_Galion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jess' Lunch also viewed

 
 

Been to Jess' Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing