We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch spot -- excellent pasteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Leaf Pastry Kitchen - CLOSED

New Leaf Pastry Kitchen
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Handcrafted pastries and lunch items prepared in an open kitchen in the heart of downtown Harrisonburg. Opened Sept. 2012 In Hardesty-Higgins House Visitors Center. European pastries for dessert or lunch, soup, salad, locally roasted coffee and tea for takeout or to eat in an inviting dining room with tables and lots of windows as well as courtyard seating near the Quilt Museum. French macaron and quiche daily. Wedding and celebration cakes available by special order. Free WiFi.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot -- excellent pasteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stopped in for a little lunch after getting info at the visitors center. The salad was fresh and crispy with a nice balsamic dressing. The bruschetta with cheese and sausage was amazingly tasty. But my real interest was in the pastries. Not too sweet, great big buttery flavors and great textures. We even stopped back later in the week for more pasteries. For the week, we tried macarons, chocolate mocha squares, raspberry cream cheese tart, brown butter date tart, and passionfruit cream tart. All were exceptional -- and shared between four people!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cincy_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawntheBaker, Owner at New Leaf Pastry Kitchen, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We're really pleased that you liked what you had well enough to come back! And thank you so much for the feedback - we all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great local coffee and pastry shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

New Leaf is a great addition to downtown Harrisonburg. Out of this world pastries, good coffee, always smiling staff, lot's of windows and light. Add plenty of parking out back and things are good. Would have gotten all 5 stars except occasionally the tables need to be wiped down and dishes picked up. But the staff, setting and refreshments are excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawntheBaker, Owner at New Leaf Pastry Kitchen, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We're so glad you like what you had and appreciate that you tried us out. We will certainly strive to do better clearing the tables. We don't always get out from behind the counter as quickly as we'd like to and while we have a bus station not all of our customers make use of it. We will be working on this going forward and hope you'll come back soon. Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to improve what we're doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Best pastries and lunches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

In a historic house, and adjacent to the Visitors' center, this shop offers excellent sweet treats and light lunches downtown. There is an outside patio and pleasant indoor dining area, where we like to sit in good weather. This is a small, family owned business which supports the community by using locally sourced ingredients. On Saturdays, we go to New Leaf for their special brunch, then head across Main Street to the outdoor Farmers's Market. Parking is convenient behind the Visitors' Center. We order their special cakes for the most important occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawntheBaker, Owner at New Leaf Pastry Kitchen, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Lunch at the Leaf is taking off. We love being in the Visitor's Center so that we always know what's going on in Harrisonburg and we can't wait to see Spring blooming in the courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best coffee and great pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We decided to have a coffee and cake break after visiting the Visitor Information Center - it is in the same building.
Yum yum yum and the nicest coffee of the holiday!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawntheBaker, Owner at New Leaf Pastry Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We're so glad you stopped in and were pleased with what you had. The coffee was roasted just down the road in Staunton by Grains of Sense and is available at the Harrisonburg Farmers Market on Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“New downtown favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My friend and I visited the bakery for the first time yesterday and decided to go again today! For lunch, we both ordered the side salad (our favorite!) I had the baked omelet, while she ordered the pulled pork, both were delicious! We loved the small, quiet environment and enjoyed our cup of tea as well as the welcoming staff! We will definitely be back to try the pastries! Love this place!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haylee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawntheBaker, Owner at New Leaf Pastry Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for having Lunch at the Leaf. We're proud of our unique offerings and so glad you enjoyed your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Leaf Pastry Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing