We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Solid Mexican Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sub Station

Sub Station
Ranked #31 of 251 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
292 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very Solid Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was very happy with my meal at the Sub Station (and located in an old Waffle House, to boot!). I had four soft corn tortilla tacos, two with Barbacoa (shredded beef) and two with Apobada (spicy shredded pork) with cilantro and onion. Delicious! A ten buck tasty dinner. Very good food and very friendly service. The chips and salsa were excellent, too.

I'd go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't Overlook this Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were in Harrisonburg for a JMU event and decided to just walk across the street from our hotel for dinner to a little unassuming looking place called the Sub Station. This is from what I understand a converted Waffle House building so it is small, but the food is phenomenal. My husband and I both had something off the Mexican fare and it was truly fresh, authentic, and delicious. Our server was very friendly. When we arrived (Friday night about 7 pm) there were only a few people in the restaurant, so our service was great, but an hour later, the place was filling up (looked like a large party had also walked over from a local hotel) and it got noisy and busy and the poor staff of only 3 was taxed to the max. We had to assert ourselves to check out, since apparently only the very busy server was able to cash us out and she was super busy with the large party. Don't know if this size crowd is unusual for them, but if it is not unusual, they definitely need to take on more staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJLindaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke , VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best tacos in town !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We try and catch a bite here every time we are in Harrisonburg. Great food, great service, very friendly place - Whether it' a traditional sub or "tacos al pastor" I have not had a meal less than 9/10 yet - We have a student at JMU so it works out great. The only problem is that it is a ways from campus - Check it out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Migrant10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Amazing food and service!! Try the chimi tacos, they are fantastic!!! The tortas and chicken flautas are delicious as well. The staff is always friendly and the atmosphere makes you relax!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Treehugger26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every chance we get we stop here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Best nachos and steak tacos. Made authentic style with cilantro and onions. Excellent loaded nachos. Huge mugs of brewed ice tea or soda. Service is amazing. Been 5-6 times traveling from PA to NC. A must stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lehigh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sub Station also viewed

 
Harrisonburg, VA
 

Been to Sub Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing