We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrisonburg Visitor Center”

Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history, culture, and amenities that make Harrisonburg one of the Virginia's most visited cities at the Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center. Browse our library of brochures, maps, and travel resources for the areas best best place to explore, shop, dine, and recline. Exepreince what makes life better in the 'burg -plan your next adventure at the Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center. Awarded with the "2016 Virginia Green Travel Star Award"
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was a first class operation. The staff person we met with was very helpful, friendly, and took sufficient time to answer our questions, provide maps, recommend restaurants, etc. There was a small Civil war museum on the property along with a very nice little bakery which we enjoyed. The visitor center itself is housed in a lovely, historic building smack in the middle of downtown, with unlimited free parking.

Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda b, Manager at Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

We're glad you had a great experience with us! Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"civil war"
in 27 reviews
"orientation center"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"historic building"
in 5 reviews
"nice place to start"
in 3 reviews
"downtown area"
in 5 reviews
"nice video"
in 2 reviews
"visitor information"
in 2 reviews
"great information"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful staff"
in 2 reviews
"interesting displays"
in 2 reviews
"tourist office"
in 2 reviews
"iced tea"
in 2 reviews
"helpful information"
in 3 reviews
"shenandoah valley"
in 7 reviews
"small museums"
in 2 reviews
"lovely lady"
in 2 reviews
Filter

112 - 116 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

First time to this area so we stopped at the tourism and visitor center. Glad we did!! We received lots of great information about sites to visit, upcoming events, places to eat, and discounts that were available. She (and I so wish I could remember her name) provided gold star service with her smile and warm manner. We walked away with great information on how to fill our time in the area. Great area to be in too!

1  Thank Hilda1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda b, Manager at Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

We're glad you had a great experience with us! Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We went in to find out if Shenandoah and Skyline Drive were due to open - they were closed by snow when we got there.
On the Tuesday daytime the woman rang the NPS helpline; gave loads of info; pointed out bus timetables; recommended the onsite New Leaf Pastry Kitchen; and said if you need more info tomorrow just call and we'll find out if the park and drive are open.
On her advice I rang next morning, different and completely unhelpful woman answered phone.
Shows you can't judge a place by one visit/contact!

1  Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda b, Manager at Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

We're glad you had a great experience with us! Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We chatted with Carol for quite a while. She was a delight and so eager to assist us in enjoying the area. Plenty of brochures. Adequate parking. And, even a tasty pastry shop inside.

1  Thank NanciAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda b, Manager at Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

We're glad you had a great experience with us! Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hardesy-Higgins House visitor center provided the great care I have found at all my visitor center stops in the Valley. They provided five lunch resommendations within walking distance, not showing preferencial treatment, which I find appropriate. They allowed me to leave my car in their parking lot, great hospitality.

2  Thank tedmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda b, Manager at Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

We're glad you had a great experience with us! Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Hardesty-Higgins House Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing