We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband, two-year-old daughter, and I stayed in the Bishop's Retreat suite a couple of weeks ago. It's hard to find a B&B that will accept kids, and this one was perfect - on the phone, the owner recommended this specific suite because it's removed from the rest of the house, so noise doesn't disturb others. The suite was spacious although low-ceilinged and the bathroom and particularly the shower/tub were small. Overall, we were quite comfortable. The staff were all very nice and accommodated our request for an early breakfast. The breakfasts were tasty though perhaps not as large or varied as at other B&Bs we've visited. All said, it's not what I'd call a luxurious B&B, but it was very pleasant and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelbigwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    34
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
229
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I worked occasionally in/around Harrisonburg, Va for many years and would drive by this B&B often. I never stopped but always like the looks of it. Finally my wife and I stayed there some time ago and loved it (I should have entered a review before now...). The place was really special, and the room at the top of the house was really interesting and enjoyable. The staff/owners/family were very friendly and helpful with various suggestions and the food was great. We loved our stay and recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at By the Side of the Road's newly opened Water Lily Suite. The suite is very spacious and has all of the amenities you could ask for! The shower is unbelievable with lot of luxurious and modern features, and the bed is super comfy. We enjoyed being able to step out on the balcony to have a glass of wine and take in the view of the large pond. The inn keepers of By the Side of the Road couldn't have been any friendlier, and Anna makes one very tasty breakfast. I really enjoyed my interaction with them leading up to, and during, our stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved this B&B. The innkeepers have left no detail out. There are ironing boards, irons, blow driers, sound machines, fans, mini-fridges, iPod docks & TV/DVRs in the rooms. The bed linens are fabulous. The fireplace was wonderful. The food was excellent. There are views of the mountains and a lovely pond. The innkeepers were wonderful and friendly. The house is absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is where my husband surprised me as our stay after our wedding before returning back home (our week honeymoon was delayed). We stayed two nights in one of the cottages, and could not have loved the accommodations more. Breakfast was served at our door without disturbance, inside a picnic basket. The first morning was savory, with a sort of quiche; the second, sweet, with orange pancakes (delightful!). The bed was plush, the tub clean and so relaxing. Unfortunately, since we were in the summer months, we couldn't turn on the fireplace at the center of the cottage, though, I'm sure that would be an amazing plus this time of year. The inn is also close enough to Harrisonburg's downtown for good eats like Union Station (romantic), Clementine (hip and intimate), and Jack Brown's (local bar and amazing burgers). The cottage also had movies to watch and a mini-fridge for our dinner leftovers. Upon our arrival, soothing music played and we were served a carafe of dark, chocolatey wine. It's was VERY relaxing!

Room Tip: I definitely prefer the cottage for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

This is where you come to find your perfect Zen.The Innkeepers have provided everything you need and tucked it into a cottage so welcoming and beautiful.I stayed in the Quill cottage.Three miraculous days of peace and reflection.After you've slept in that heaven cloud of a bed,immersed yourself in that unrivaled whirlpool tub and certainly after Mrs.Fitzgerald's breakfasts you know you have found a true gem.Anna gave me the main house tour and is also a wealth of knowledge when it comes to navigating all around the valley.And you always get a cheery smile and hearty "Good Morning"from Dennis as he delivered that amazing breakfast.I'm booking a longer stay next time.Checking my calendar for a return date right now!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Side of the Road is a wonderful B&B. The rooms are large and beautiful. Lots of amenities. The location of the B&B is in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, close to Civil War sights, interesting caverns, quaint country towns, Skyline Drive, and other restfull and rejuvenating places, although you will have to drive to see the sights. The inkeepers are very nice.

The one thing my wife and I wondered about was the fact that the inn delivered the morning breakfast to your door, rather than serve it in a main room of the house. This is different than most B&B's and made us wonder if it would work. While the delivered breakfast arrived a little earlier than we would have prefered, it was good, and worked much better than we expected. In fact, we kinda liked not having to be fully prepared to leave our room and get breakfast -- we could simply eat together in a more informal manner.

All-in-all, a good place to go if you are looking for a fun and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages

Property: By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Address: 491 Garbers Church Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-8409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Inn, located in Harrisonburg in Virginia's central Shenandoah Valley. Whether staying one night or more, our one-of-a-kind Shenandoah Valley lodging is legendary. Guests return time and again to experience the comfort and intimacy of our four Main House Suites and five Luxurious Cottages. We hope to meet you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Side Of The Road Inn & Cottages Hotel Harrisonburg
By The Side Of The Road Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing