We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife, our newborn baby and I stayed at By the Side of the Road a few months ago as a special getaway before my wife returned to work after maternity leave. Even though I failed to find a place for us to go before the week before, By the Side of the Road had a room available - during peak leaf season - and was one of the few such establishments in the Harrisonburg area that had accommodations for children. The hospitality was wonderful. Even though we only stayed one night, everything was ready when we arrived to check in, and the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. This was our first experience with a B and B, and we will definitely back. From help picking an appropriate restaurant, to suggestions on things to see on our way back to Northern Virginia, to the the wonderful breakfast, we couldn't have asked for more, especially at such a reasonable price. Like I wrote earlier, we will definitely be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

It's great to have a suite located in the manor house that accommodates children but is separate from the other suites. We always say the baby can cry and laugh, etc., without disturbing others guests AND parents can relax knowing that! Please do come again and thanks for sharing your visit on TA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a beautiful stay! The cottage was everything I could have imagined and more. The details were exquisite, from the prompt delivery of amazing breakfasts to the sherry in the room in the evening. Make sure you buy one of their signature mugs! :D

Room Tip: The Bergey Cottage was fabulous and secluded!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

What fun to photograph your breakfast plates and post them here. We loved that. Thank you so much. We are delighted that all was well with your visit and hope we can fulfill your expectations upon a return visit. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After several B&B adventures, I recommend By the Side of the Road for the location, cottages, and amenities. Our private cottage included a comtemporary shower, view of the pond, wonder room layout, very comfortable bed and an exception breakfast that is brought to your door. The area includes many attractions within a very short drive.

Room Tip: Although restaurants are within the area, the room includes everything to eat in the cottage plus a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi James P:
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed one of our Spring Water Suites and found some great things to do in our area! We certainly hope to have you back in the near future. Taking the time to write a review is much appreciated and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages was the best stay my boyfriend and I have ever experienced. It was wonderful! First of all, we were greeted as soon as we walked in the door and were given a tour of the house, along with some history. We stayed in the Eselyn Taylor Suite in the Manor House and the room was beautiful! It was clean and comfortable and everything you could possibly need is already in the room. The food was great! Breakfast was delivered to our door each morning and was delicious. The Inn is in a great location, too. It is within close proximity to downtown Harrisonburg, as well as wineries and the Old Hill Cider. The ride to Old Hill Cider took about 25 minutes, and exposed us to some breathtaking views. If we ever happen to travel through this area again, this is the place we will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooke711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at By the Side of the Road. We shared the review with Old Hill Cider as well! We sincerely hope you'll be back to see us again in the near future. All the best to you both! -- Janice, Dennis & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in the Mount Laurel cottage at By The Side of The Road Bed & Breakfast for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We were very pleased with the overall comfort and cleanliness of the cottage and appreciated how close it was to downtown Harrisonburg and the wineries we wanted to visit. Breakfast was delicious and it was just so cozy to relax in.The bed sheets were the most comfortable sheets I have ever slept in! I still want to buy a set of those. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Ten years is a landmark worth celebrating and we're so pleased that our Wine Trail Package and the Mountain Laurel Suite within our Spring Water Cottage both contributed to a romantic getaway. Eleven will be here before you know it! :-) Why not make By the Side of the Road your anniversary "tradition". We'd love to see you both again! Janice, Dennis & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stopped here for one night on way to Alabama. The cottages were great and offered a romantic alternate to a standard hotel. Would definitely use again. Several nice restaurants within a few minute drive.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main house, so can only comment of separate cottages.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atom1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Glad you were well-rested for that long "road trip" home; we're so pleased you had a good stay. Thanks to Harrisonburg's wonderful Downtown Renaissance organization, our restaurants and other retail businesses just get better and better. We're happy you discovered that. Do come again! Janice, Dennis & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I just spent a three-night weekend at the Inn. We stayed in the Mountain Laurel room (in the building located "across the pond" from the main building). We've stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years, and we can say, unhesitatingly, that the Mountain Laurel room was comfortable, spotless, fresh and first class in all respects. The breakfasts (delivered to our room each morning in a picnic basket) were served hot and right on time - - three different mornings, three different breakfasts, and each was excellent. The hosts were warm, gracious and helpful in steering us to various things we wanted to do while we were in the area. By the Side of the Road was an excellent experience in all respects, and we would definitely stay there again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for such kind words. We pride ourselves on breakfast "variety" when guests stay multiple evenings and are thankful that all three days were enjoyed. The Mountain Laurel Suite within our new Spring Water Cottage is approaching it's first anniversary and we couldn't be happier to learn that it met your expectations. Please do come again whenever in the Valley.
Janice, Dennis & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
319 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
834 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages

Address: 491 Garbers Church Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-8409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range: £152 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Inn, located in Harrisonburg in Virginia's central Shenandoah Valley. Whether staying one night or more, our one-of-a-kind Shenandoah Valley lodging is legendary. Guests return time and again to experience the comfort and intimacy of our four Main House Suites and five Luxurious Cottages. We hope to meet you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Side Of The Road Inn & Cottages Hotel Harrisonburg
By The Side Of The Road Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing