We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Harrisonburg(Harrisonburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
249
42
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
249
42
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthe main housepicnic basketquill cottagebed and breakfasteach morningwater lilymountain laurelromantic getawaymanor housebreakfast deliveredsoufflebath saltssoft music playingboth morningsgas fireplacelittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful place, well taken care of! We booked 2 nights at the Mountain Laurel suite and it looked exactly as the pictures on the inn's website. This suite is not in the inn, but shares a small house across the pond with the Water Lily suite. We didn't hear our neighbors in the Water Lily, it's very private. From the queen size bed you can look out over the pond and the inn. We also enjoyed relaxing on the private porch after our days of exploring the area. The bathroom was very nice, spacious and clean (everything was!). The shower was not just an ordinary shower, but a shower Plus Plus. Breakfasts were delivered at the door (with a clear knock ;) They were delicious! You're in downtown Harrisonburg and the JMU campus in a few minutes (by car). We enjoyed dinner in the Union Station Bar at 128 W Market Street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Thank you, Manon V, for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the Mountain Laurel Suite. The feedback regarding the pictures on the website is so helpful. We strive to portray ourselves accurately online. The showers are the main feature in the Spring Water Suites and we're so happy you enjoyed that as well! Please do come again! Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in the Ardor of Hope Suite over JMU graduation weekend and loved it. Close to JMU campus and the downtown area but perfectly quiet and relaxing. Very easy to book, as well. We will definitely be staying here for future trips!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Thank you Melissa M!
We are glad your overall experience was a good one! That is our goal and we certainly will hope to have you back sometime soon. Go Dukes!
Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A friend and I stayed here for the VA State Choir program at Harrisonburg High School! We stayed in the Water Lily Suite and it was like brand new! There was spa like music playing when we entered the suite. The fireplace was on and everything looked both beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was delivered to the door in a picnic basket and it was delicious. I liked how clean and up to date the cottage was....seriously, it was like brand new. I do not like old or outdated places with antiques and a dusty smell. This had none of that and was beyond nice! I think it should be rated #1!!! And there you go, that's my review. Stay here, and you won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: The Mountain Laurel Suite and the Water Lily Suite are a duplex unit that over looks the pond. Very new, nice, clean, and private.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiejsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope another event will bring you our way again! All the best to you and your family. Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our second visit. We've stayed in the manor house as well as 1of the cottages. We loved both. Breakfast is unique (NOT typical restaurant fair) & brought hot to your door allowing for a leisurely start to your day. The bed is luxurious. The inn keepers made great suggestions IF you want to explore. The setting is quiet for just sitting on the porch or in front of the fireplace to read, play a game or watch HD tv. For us, it is the perfect escape.

Room Tip: We liked both Arbor of Hope & the cottages. Rooms were excellent-I can't get the review buttons to work.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Hi Brenda H:
Thank you for your kind review and for returning to By the Side of the Road! We look forward to having you back for more visits to come! -Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Planned this stay as a romantic getaway for my wife's birthday. I came across this B&B online and decided to bring her. We stayed in the Quill Cottage. We arrived late but everything was taken care of for our stay. I thought the room was wonderful and the bathroom area was great. The living area was roomy. I would definately recommend the B&B and the Quill Cottage. It was very romantic and my wife loved the place. We plan on returning in the near future. The innkeepers are the best and make the stay very delightful. I thought the fireplace placed at the hot tub added to the romance. I highly recommend the B&B for the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Quill Cottage has all the amenties and privacy and more room. But the main house is very nice and has alot of history connected to it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you found us online and made the decision to come for your wife's birthday. The Quill Cottage is very popular for a romantic getaway! We look forward to many return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews