We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Private and We'll Appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Water Lily suite (a little private cottage in a 2-cottage building beside the main lodge building) we knew we chose a place where the owners are passionate about what they do and put in the time and effort to do it right. This place is extremely well appointed, immaculately clean and very romantic, private and cozy! We never met the owners but appreciated them just the same for making our stay so wonderful. Some reviews suggest the price is too high and certainly this isn't a 'discount place to crash'; but if you want to spoil yourselves and enjoy a beautiful room and a delicious breakfast, this place offers great value for the money! We'd happily return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pro_CNDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Your review is so appreciated. We've noted exception to our tariff and thank you for perceiving our value. The good news is that as of 2016 we have lowered our tariffs after extensive analysis. We hope you'll consider a return visit! We look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Bergey cottage at By the Side of the Road for three nights and could not have been more pleased. The cottage is cozy and romantic, the breakfast (delivered to the door) was consistently great, and we felt we had total privacy. The little touches -- soft music playing when we came in, the little sign welcoming us by name, etc. -- were nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmerline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

So happy to know your stay was all that you needed in a retreat from the busy-ness of life. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I found this enchanting B&B totally by accident and I am so glad I did. It was a truly wonderful experience and Dennis, Janice and Anna could not have been nicer. The room was beautiful and upon our arrival there was flower petals on the bed and a decanter of brandy. Breakfast was a diners delight. I could not wait until the next morning to see what beautiful and tasty breakfast awaited us. Staying at By the Side of the Road Inn made our vacation a memorable one. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone that is traveling to the Virginia area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Thank you so much! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the 1790 suite. It was so peaceful and quiet - we never heard any of the other guests. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was great, and the room overall had so much character to it. Most importantly, Dennis and Janice were incredibly sweet and were always around if we needed something. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our 8th year Anniversary and we are motorcycle enthusiast heading to VA for the 2014 Hog Rally looking forward to ride Skyline drive. We trailered (2) bikes and the Inn had plenty of room for parking and were very accommodating to our needs. Our room was exceptional, very clean and quite. This place is close to everything yet has a quite and romantic atmosphere feeling. If you are looking for a great place to re-connect and enjoy everything VA has to offer this bed and breakfast is a MUST. We never spoke to the inn keepers as the Water Lily suite is set back from the main house with an amazing pond view. We ate breakfast on our porch every morning and it was served HOT and with just the right amount. We will be back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Water Lily Cottage and you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkemske63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

HI rkemske63: We remember that weekend well! It was exciting to have the Rally here in the 'Burg. We're so happy you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. We hope you'll be our guest again when you're ready to enjoy our beautiful city and have some time together again! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return! Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband, myself and another couple spent two nights at this B & B recently. We were greeted by the host and immediately given a tour and the historical background of the home. We stayed in the Ardor of Hope suite. The space consisted of three rooms: an entry area with coffee service and wine glasses, an ample bathroom and the guest room that was very spacious and had very comfortable furnishings.

We toured the area and would recommend the arboretum at JMU and the farmer's market in Harrisonburg.

The breakfast was delivered to the door of the room by 9 am and was hot, delicious and ample. We found the egg souffle to be a bit rich but the fruit compote was amazing.

We slept very well in the comfortable bed with a down overlay. I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

KathyMM2014: Thanks so much for reviewing your stay in the Ardor of Hope Suite! We're so glad you'd like to return! We will hope to have you back as our guest again soon! Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

By the Side of the Road Inn Bed and Breakfast
Wow! What a great place to stay. My wife celebrated out 11-year anniversary there and loved it. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Ardor of Hope Suite. Upon arrival, we received a tour of the house and detailed instruction for our stay from the owner’s daughter. She was awesome! The owners were fantastic and very customer friendly. They took time to chat with us and answer all of our questions and to make recommendations of things to do and places to eat. We purchased some glassware from them on Saturday morning and they had everything wrapped, packaged, and placed in our room upon our return on Saturday afternoon from exploring. They also left us a small bottle of Champagne, two Champagne flutes with a sugar cube in the bottom, and an anniversary card for us…what a great touch to our weekend. We purchased the “Luck of the Irish” package through Groupon, which was fantastic. Along with the stay, we also received a $25 coupon for a Corgans, a local Irish pub that had amazing food. We also received two complimentary bottles of Guinness with two chilled glasses, and a gourmet breakfast delivered to our door each morning. Both breakfasts were absolutely delicious and romantic. The room also had a complimentary Brandy and two small brandy glasses. The house and the rooms were beautiful and included free Wi-Fi, coffee both in-room and in the common area, microwave, fridge, books, and DVD’s to watch. I give this B&B 5-stars and highly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Manager at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Hi there George W:
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are so pleased you decided to try a B&B for your 11th Anniversary celebration and that we passed the test! The Bed & Breakfast industry is unique and we hope we won't be your last b&b! Please come see us again sometime... we'd love to have back! Dennis, Janice & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
467 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#10 of 23 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages

Address: 491 Garbers Church Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-8409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range: £157 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Inn, located in Harrisonburg in Virginia's central Shenandoah Valley. Whether staying one night or more, our one-of-a-kind Shenandoah Valley lodging is legendary. Guests return time and again to experience the comfort and intimacy of our four Main House Suites and five Luxurious Cottages. We hope to meet you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Side Of The Road Inn & Cottages Hotel Harrisonburg
By The Side Of The Road Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing