We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
273
46
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
273
46
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the main house picnic basket each morning bed and breakfast mountain laurel b bs water lily breakfast delivered manor house souffle gas fireplace cd player bath salts sitting room relaxing stay minor issue
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We had an excellent stay in the Quill Cottage. We would definitely recommend a stay there. We would have liked to have had more time to explore the property. The setting is gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious with great presentation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackiebschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Getaway Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Congratulations to you both! Let's make this an anniversary tradition You are a special pair; we wish you all the best❗️Janice & Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Nice B&B! We were in Virginia for our birthday weekend. We wanted a place to just relax away from all the kids. This place really fulfilled everything we wanted and more. We opted for the more romantic Quill Cottage. The oversized jacuzzi tub, and dual sided fireplace was well worth the extra money! The hot gourmet breakfast was delicious each morning (delivered in a cute picnic basket to your door) We will definitely be back for another stay in the future. Thanks again Janice and Dennis!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brucew_jwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Getaway Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

You two were delightful guests - way too young to have FIVE children ;-) Thanks for taking time from your very busy family demands to share about your experience here. We certainly hope you will return to celebrate birthdays next year or anytime you need some R&R. Best to you both, Janice & Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This was our third time staying at this wonderful B&B. We loved it so much the first time that we’ve made it an Anniversary tradition. The cottages are luxurious and just the right size for a 2 person getaway. We will be back again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smwoody84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Getaway Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

We have always said the highest compliment you can pay is to return to By the Side of the Road. Thank you so much for sharing that this is your third visit and you will be back - wow, that is so awesome! Make sure you tell us it's your fourth visit next time so we can appropriately appreciate your faithful patronage. Best regards, Janice & Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Perfect place to stay to visit Harrisonburg and the Shenandoah Valley. The Ardor of Hope room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delightful too. While we typically enjoy dining with other guests for breakfast, serving in the room was a relaxing, romantic treat for a change.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Getaway Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thanks so much for taking time to share your thoughts, Jeri. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed The Ardor of Hope Suite; it's one of our favorites. It was a pleasure to meet you both and learn so much about our Virginia agriculture. We hope you will return.
Best regards,
Janice and Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

My wife and I enjoyed thoroughly our stay in one of cottages at By the Side of the Road Inn! The ambience was exquisite and the breakfast delightful. We highly recommend the experience to any couple looking for a special "getaway".

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drowe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSideInn, Owner at By the Side of the Road Getaway Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you so much for your recommendation for a couples "getaway" - that's exactly what our inn was designed to provide. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed one of our five cottage suites. Anytime you can, please consider returning to By the Side of the Road. Best regards, Janice & Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews