We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of 3 hotels in a one week span!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best of 3 hotels in a one week span!”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

After staying in a couple other hotels for a trip (first with kids), we had a good idea of what we were looking for and needed in a hotel. This one fit the bill perfectly! Rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The mini fridge was larger than all the others and a PERFECT size! We were all able to keep our drinks for the road cold overnight so the ice didn't melt as fast on the road! The TV was still an older CRT instead of a flat screen but was of adequate size to view from both beds. The pool was heated, but still a little chilly at 80. The hot tub was a perfect 100 but needs real seats with many more jets. The continental breakfast was amazing! Eggs, toast, ham chunks, potatoes, Kellogs boxed cereal and of course the standard waffle maker, beagles and muffins. The coffee was the best I had for an entire week! I love the french vanilla creamer, which they HAD! Our group of 4 adults and 2 kids came to the conclusion that we will stay at Country Inn and Suites from now on. It's a great hotel at a good price!

Room Tip: Make sure the exaust fan works in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdkWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    166
    55
    17
    14
See reviews for
274
119
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

As soon as we opened the door, the musty odor hit us. The room looked clean--it just stunk. We went out and bought candles to mask the odor. My daughter brought a friend, and I was embarassed by the accommodations we provided.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a spontaneous trip down to the Natural Bridge area and it was a good close spot on the way. It had what we were looking for - non-smoking, an inside pool, and breakfast.

I can't really speak to the comfort of the room - I think there was something a bit off about the air conditioning - it would go on for awhile and we'd get chilly, then would go off and we'd get hot, repeat. :) It was pretty hot outside that night, though, so it may have had a hard time compensating. We also didn't sleep as great because of our children kicking and wiggling, so who knows how the beds really were. ;)

The breakfast was okay... it got pretty busy because it was Memorial Day weekend and I think they weren't prepared, so many items were out for awhile. They had typical stuff - make-your-own waffles (tasty!), cereals, donuts, and some hot stuff that didnt look great (potatoes & some crumbly meat, I guess like a hash, and eventually egg patties that I ate to get some protein and wasn't awful). They did have fruit, but it was thawed frozen fruit and just tasteless - we took a bunch because we normally eat a lot of fruit at breakfast, but dumped most of it because we just couldn't eat it. I felt bad to waste food, though!

The pool was nice - seemed clean and we had lots of fun! The hot tub wasn't very hot, so we actually let our children sit on the step for a few minutes while we enjoyed the warmth.

Overall, if the price was right and we needed to stay in the area again, we'd stay here again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LoveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I arrived at 8 pm on Friday, August 28th for an attorney meeting at the nearby community college the next morning. I stayed at this location on a weekend get-away a year ago, and decided to give it another try. This Country Inn is conveniently located across the highway from the on-ramp to I-81 and Cracker Barrel

I enrolled for a Goldpointsplus card at the Roanoke location earlier this year, and asked for a complimentary upgrade--no problem! I received a suite on the 3rd floor. The bed was so comfortable, I stayed in for the rest of the evening surfing the net on my laptop using the FREE wi-fi. Many of the places in Asheville, North Carolina, where I stayed several weeks ago, charge a nightly fee for internet access; I didn't stay at a Country Inn on that trip.

All of the doors in the pool area are rusty--an easily remedied problem. The hot tub was six inches low on water, exposing the jets and creating a sucking sound. I brought it to the attention of the desk attendant, who said he would add water after the pool closed in half an hour.

The only problem encountered in my room was minor--the knob on the bathtub drain pulled-off when I pulled it up to prepare for my shower. I screwed it back on, and it worked just fine. I was happy no to see any traces of mold in the bathroom, which I have seen at all hotels and motels over the past year (the worst is found in the cottages at the Peaks of Otter Lodge.) The air conditioner functioned wonderfully.

The breakfast this morning was great for travel food! I had a fajita with bacon, egg, cheese and salsa--not pre-prepared, but made myself from fresh ingredients. I stayed at a competitor's motel in Burlington, NC several weeks ago, and the breakfast there sucked. I also helped myself to the fresh oatmeal and fresh blueberries. The bold coffee at the coffee kiosk was equally fresh and tasty.

I'll be back!

Room Tip: Enroll in the Goldpointsplus program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Everything was great (room, breakfast, wifi) except for the pool area. It had mold on the ceiling and the window and door frames were rusted.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravel999Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel while traveling on business and had a 1 pm appointment. I had checked in at 3 am with a cranky desk clerk, but when I asked to check out 45 minutes later than the 12 noon deadline, I was told I would be charged for a second day. I hadn't even been there 10 hours yet! So, I did check out at noon and left in a rush. They then proceeded to charge a second day anyway, even though I stayed in another country inn that night. They said I was in the room when they checked late in the day.. I guess the desk clerk just figured I might not notice. It took a month to get this straightened out. Next trip to this area will stay at a different location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniceFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The beds at this hotel are worse than "firm" - they're downright HARD!! Our mattress at home is on the firm side and the bed in this place was really unforgiving! Nothing like the beds at their sister hotel in Hinesville, GA.
When I grabbed the faucet handle in the bathroom sink it came off in my hand! It was late at night so I reported it the next morning. The response was"I'll report it to maintenace." When we returned later that day, the handle had not been fixed. I reported it again to the "new" person at the desk. Response: "I'm sorry. Would you like to move to another room?" I asked if any rooms had newer/softer beds and she said no. So I decided it was not worth the aggravation of moving. So I "fixed" the handle myself using the cap from the hotel pen!!
The rooms are spartan in appearance. Again, nothing like the sister hotel in Georgia. The exercise room smelled terrible! Like it was full of mold!
On the good side, their breakfast spread was nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headhoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Address: 27 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Country Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Country Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing