We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super, clean property!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Super, clean property!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

DH and I took a semi-impromptu road trip to Harrisonburg, VA over the Easter weekend. It’s great when you can get a suite for less than the price of a hotel room. The fact that the property had so many glowing Trip Advisor reviews cinched the deal! We never book a property or pick a restaurant unless we review TA reviews first!

We booked a Queen 1-bedroom suite and that’s what we got. I’m very allergic to dogs and cats but having stayed at a prior pet-friendly hotels without incident, we rolled the dice. It’s possible that we got a room that had never had a pet stay there, but I had no problems with itching during our stay. We did hear dogs parking periodically as we walked down the hall, but had no issues. As an FYI to pet-friendly hotel owners/managers – it would be nice to set aside a few rooms for people who are allergic to pets.

To people unfamiliar with the Candlewood Suites model, they’re set up for independent, long-term travelers. Which means maid service weekly, not daily, and limited front desk hours. Per those limited staff hours – it was a bummer to awake during said limited hours and realize that the Wi-Fi access code had changed Saturday at midnight! Since I was arranging flights and hotel for an unexpected funeral, it was annoying. As an FYI to future Candlewood guests – you might want to inquire about the new code on Saturday night.

As others have mentioned the property abuts train tracks. We arrived on Friday afternoon and heard no trains until Sunday morning. The property also sits across from a Lowes which has bright spotlights at night, but our room which faced the Lowes had heavy drapes that blocked out light quite effectively.

This property was very clean, our suite was spotless and spacious, we loved the free Internet (so many properties charge, which bugs me). We loved the fact that the heating/AC unit was whisper-quiet.

I had this vision of Harrisonburg as a sleepy, quiet town. It has a slower pace, and is a lovely little town, but is packed with lots of restaurants and major retailers (Walmart, Ross, TJ Maxx, Target, Best Buy etc). If you go, don’t forget to stop by Wood Grill restaurant – it is chockfull of great homestyle food and attentive staff, and best of all, prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: With only two floors and a super quick elevator, can't think of a bad room, unless it's clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trinigirlmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite! We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    75
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
80
62
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is very nice even for a short stay. The rooms are very clean and neat and the prices are very reasonable. There is a little convenience store and a business office on the first floor for customers and there are even movies available for rental at the front desk. Although there is not a complimentary breakfast or roll-away beds available, who can complain when each room includes a full kitchen and suites include a pull-out sofa. It's a great place to stay!

Room Tip: If you are going with a small group, consider getting the one bedroom suite which includes a queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite! We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I loved our stay at Candlewood. This was our first stay and, if given the option, will stay at a Candlewood Suites again. The last hotel we stayed in was the Doubletree, and this was way better by far. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the room and all the areas were super clean, and, best of all, they are pet-friendly. The bathroom is nice and big with great water pressure and temperature consistency. Having a kitchenette was fantastic -- a full-sized fridge, double burner stove, microwave, even a dishwasher. It was also wonderful to be able to do our own laundry for free. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor facing the highway. There was a lot of traffic noise, and a lot of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jem_pire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg better than the Doubletree. What a compliment! We sure do have a friendly team working here. It's always refreshing to know that guests enjoy interacting with the team as much as I do. And isn't it great to be able to do your laundry for FREE and not have to take dirty clothes home with you? Again, thanks for the compliments.

Phillip Modisett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The building ,room and premises were excellent. Id recommend to anyone. Hospitality was great and met all needs. Chris was particularly helpful. Only downside is a nearby industrial park has lots of passing truck traffic, but there is nothing they can do about that. Extremely pet friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Benjamin W,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and could relax. Chris is my "Right Hand Man." I'll certainly make sure he and the rest of the team get a chance to read this review.

Thanks,
Phillip Modisett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

If you're looking for a place that feels like a small apartment rather than a hotel room, Candlewood Suites is the perfect place. I try not to eat out too much while I'm on the road for work, so I stay there so I can have access to a full-sized fridge and mini-kitchen. Rooms are always clean and well-furnished. Service is always friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSWV29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Hi DSWV29,

Thank you for your great review. Aren't the kitchens a great feature? Your title is my favorite part. "Great Place, Great Service." Thank you!

Phil Modisett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We visit this facility several times during the year. We were there during the Christmas Holidays. There was a fire during the night and the hallway was smoke filled. The fire was in the room next to our room. Even after the fire was ended we could smell the smoke. We decided to leave and travel home. The staff on duty were most understanding and told us the situation would be reveiwed on the next business day. In fact, the review occurred and an adjustment was done to your bill and we were notified. We appreciate the prompt response and the professional service of the individual at the front desk and the manager and will continue to use the hotel because of the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. We are so sorry that you were inconvenienced by a fire but we are happy that we were able to take good care of you. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had stayed at this property once before and liked it. Our welcome this time was equally kind, and we were given a ground floor room with a kitchen that had basic equipment. We were travelling with three cats, and the bathroom was large enough to accommodate our cat litter box without inconveniencing us. The pet fee of $25 for all three cats was very modest.

There were several pleasant touches: Decent coffee provided in the room (and more, free, available at the front desk), a sachet of popcorn in the microwave, loaner movies, and an on-site shop that met basic needs. Being trusted to sign for snacks made me feel very positive about the hotel management.

Check-in and -out was efficient and friendly. We plan to use this facility regularly on trips to our summer home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonGCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for the review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit and could bring your 3 cats. The coffee in Candlewood Suites is pretty good. I have at least one cup every day from the Candlewood Cupboard. I'm looking forward to taking good care of you the next time you're in Harrisonburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Address: 1560 Country Club Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22802-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is easy with voice mail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access, and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library to enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Staying fit? Enjoy our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. Traveling with pets? We re a pet friendly hotel too. Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg is nearby to many of the area's local businesses: Coors, Merck, RR Donnelly, Walker Manufacturing, SYSCO, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Tyson Foods, SI International and Cargill. Colleges and Universities nearby are: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, and Eastern Mennonite University. Local attractions: Shenandoah National Park, Massannutten Ski Resort, Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge, Skyline Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing