We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Customer Service Mattie G”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Customer Service Mattie G”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have done some planned traveling but this time we did not plan this one. We were looking for a hotel to stay for one night and we run into Candlewood Suites. We were greeted by Tanya at the front desk who provided us with an exceptional courteous welcome as though we were family, a welcome we have not experience for avery long time. She make us feel at home and because of that we had a wonderful stay. Everything were in order. We will surely consider Candlewood Suites for our future travels. Tanya, thanks so very much and we hope to see you in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on any corner seems to be much quieter. However, customer service will always make a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for wonderful 5-star review about your recent stay! Tanya does a fabulous job taking care of our guests and we will make sure your comments gets passed on to her. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    77
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
62
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The room was nice and comfortable. The next morning i had to print some documents. The computers in their business center would not pull up microsoft word documents. The girl behind the front desk named Tanya allowed me to come back there and print my documents. Tanya was a doll baby. Very helpful and very beautiful girl. I will be back again just because of her.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your trip to Harrisonburg. We truly value your feedback and am so pleased to learn Tanya was able to help you with the documents you needed printed. I will share your comments with her and we look forward to your return back to the beautiful Shenandoah Valley.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in a two room suite and it was setup just like the vast majority of Candlewood two room suites are, but… The furniture was worn and tattered and the room was in need of some TLC. The staff was courteous and helpful which was nice after arriving at 2am, but the room was not in top shape.

Room Tip: Its not a bad hotel, but don't expect it to be pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Rick & Ali,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept our sincere apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This facility is truly remarkable. Tanya at the front desk was outstanding in providing excellent customer service. She was very proactive and takes much pride in her work. The facility was outstanding and very clean. The bed was very comfortable which allowed for a good night's sleep. I stayed there for four nights and highly recommend this facility for anyone traveling to Harrisonburg to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear John B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay. Tanya is wonderful at making our guests feel welcome and there business appreciated; I will make sure to share your comments with her. I do hope to see you the next time you make it to Harrisonburg.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Daytona, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stopover in Harrisonburg Virginia. Again we were two weary travelers with a large dog. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and professional. The Hotel was conveniently located right off the highway. The room was somewhat small but clean and comfortable. The rates were extremely reasonable the best of all the hotels we stayed in along our travels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 5-star rating from your recent trip! We love welcoming pets to the property and appreciate your wonderful comments about the hotel. I do hope to see you during your next visit to Harrisonburg.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was very easy to find and right of the interstate. I had made our reservation about 30 minutes prior while at a rest stop and so was surprised when I checked in and they were expecting me. Brad greeted me very nicely and was super helpful. He checked us in quickly and even apologized as our preferred room type was not available. Room 223 was very nice and more than we expected.

The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. Some of the furniture looked very worn but everything was clean so it didn’t matter to me. I’m not sure if they usually don’t give lotion but there was none for us to use and I didn’t want to get our big suitcase from the car to dig for ours.

I liked the full-sized fridge and it definitely made our drinks nice and cold. The rest of the kitchen area was very nice and I was glad to have it so we could make our own breakfast before heading out.

The one thing that I did not like was that housekeeping knocked at the door around 0941am while check-out isn’t until noon. I’m glad I was already awake otherwise I would have been upset not just annoyed.

The mini-store in the lobby had good prices and good selection.

I would definitely stay here again on our road trips up North.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Travel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a wonderful review! I am pleased to learn you would stay again and that your stay was a five star rating. We truly appreciate your business and feedback and look forward to the next time you visit the beautiful Shenandoah Valley.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carrollton, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight for his birthday and I was pleasantly surprised!! The room was amazing. Queen sized bed, kitchenette with everything you could possibly need, make sure you check the microwave because there is a hidden bag of popcorn inside. When we checked in they asked floor preference and advised us that they were on the honor system, there was free coffee and tea and a small convience store area in which after making your selections, you paid at the front desk. There was also a lending area where you could sign out games, larger appliances like crock pots, vacuum cleaner etc, they also had a selection of dvd movies in which you could check out. They had a nice display of restaurant menus in the area which was quite helpful in making our meal selection, and they were mostly located right down the street, so the convenience is amazing. The only problem we had was around 8:30 am housekeeping attempted to come into our room even though we had our magnet stating we were sleeping on the door, luckily we had the security lock in place. We loved that they had a late check out 12 noon and we will definitely be coming back for another stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronne624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ronnette,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites to spend your husband's specail birthday evening with us. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful review and hope you will continue to stay with us and other Candlewood Suites when you travel. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Address: 1560 Country Club Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22802-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is easy with voice mail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access, and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library to enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Staying fit? Enjoy our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. Traveling with pets? We re a pet friendly hotel too. Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg is nearby to many of the area's local businesses: Coors, Merck, RR Donnelly, Walker Manufacturing, SYSCO, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Tyson Foods, SI International and Cargill. Colleges and Universities nearby are: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, and Eastern Mennonite University. Local attractions: Shenandoah National Park, Massannutten Ski Resort, Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge, Skyline Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing