We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a gem.”
Review of Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Lion
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this superb accommodation, and what a find, we had
friends staying in their Caravan in Abergele, and they recommended this pub for our stay. We booked for bed and breakfast, and we had Dinner on the Saturday evening to celebrate a birthday, the food was excellent,and service excellent. The breakfasts are to die for, all fresh.
The accommodation to me was 5 star luxury, comfy beds, large bathrooms with all facilities you need. eg; Hair Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion what more could you ask for.
All rooms have hairdryers, and tea and coffee making facilities. We are definitely going to return
for a week-end later in the year, looking forward to it.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmajane770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Called at the Black Lion on the off chance that they could fit us in for Sunday lunch as we hadn't made a booking, the place was very busy but she managed to find us a table. The food was lovely and plentiful, we couldn't manage a desert. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are all very friendly and polite. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

In lieu of a cancelled week in Cyprus at Easter we arranged a night away from a family issue and to visit some friends in Wrexham. What a find. Its a beautifully presented place, in a small village next to a stream. The welcome was warm and friendly, and the room more than adequate for our needs on a short stay - comfy bed, kettle/tea/coffee/biscuits/tv etc. The bathroom was modern with quality fittings. It is a pub cum restaurant cum hotel, so the drinks were pub prices and the food was exceptional. We had a worrying phone call over dinner to do with the family issue and nearly had to cancel the stay to travel straight back home. The staff couldn't do enough for us and I can't thank them enough. As a result, we did stay and were able to enjoy the fabulous breakfast that was presented to us before travelling straight home. Unfortunately we were not there long enough to explore the area and the walks, but it is in a lovely part of the world, easy to find and not far from the beach. I can't speak highly enough of The Black Lion AND its staff, other than we shall return at some point, to enjoy it properly without any other distractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Found this hotel this afternoon the food was excellent service excellent to what a lovely village will definitely be back to stay a very lucky find we had only a main course I had the chicken very good portion my husband and son had the Texan burger superb my brother in law had belly pork and really enjoyed it very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Myself and my partner visited today. Initially just to have a drink but ended up having some food. We choose two starters; muscles in a sauce, plenty of muscles and the sauce was lovely! My partner also had the crispy duck which was also a generous portion for a starter. We had a side of lovely crispy chips and garlic bread covered with cheese, again very generous portions. For a light lunch it was fantastic and the service was brilliant too, as we were guided to a table next to the crackling fire. Will definitely visit again as we live locally.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rach870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I took our granddaughter for Sunday lunch recently. We didn't realise we had to book as it was our first visit ( not realising it was so popular and busy. ) The manager there made an exception for us not booking and arranged a table for us in no time. The service and food was exceptional. We had roast lamb and beef dinners which was good value for money. There was a lovely choice of vegetables, fresh carrots, cauliflower in cheese sauce, spring cabbage and the meal was fantastic. There was so much we didn't need to order for my granddaughter as she had a side plate and helped herself!! We would recommend the The Black Lion to anyone and we will be returning in the very near future - enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here a few times now and our last visit didn't disappoint. Had another good meal and a few drinks with friends. Can be a little quiet but if thats what you want then fine or ring before and get dates for the weekends they have music on.The locals are friendly and make you welcome. Take a walk to the only other pub in the village for some lively chit chat. A lovely secluded village over a bridge in the Welsh hills but not too far from Abergele or some shopping in Llandudno , exploring Betws Y Coed or just a stop over when catching a ferry from Holyhead. Gareth behind the bar is a great host as are the rest of the team. A lovely late breakfast to set you up for your journey onward or home. A little gem.

Room Tip: All rooms are good , some bigger than others, free upgrades are available for the larger rooms if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robahardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfair Talhaiarn
4.5 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
635 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#3 of 8 in Abergele
30 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Kinmel Arms
The Kinmel Arms
#1 of 8 in Abergele
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion

Address: Swan Square, Llanfair Talhaiarn, Abergele LL22 8RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele > Llanfair Talhaiarn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Talhaiarn
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing