We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT! Cheaper than most near National Mall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Khao Lak
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“GREAT! Cheaper than most near National Mall”
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Don't pay those ridiculous prices for hotels near the National Mall, Alexandria and Arlington. This hotel has everything you need and if you're driving yourself (rental car or otherwise) all you need to do is take a short 20 minute ride (without rush hour) to the Vienna train station and park and ride. The hotels near the tourist sites are expensive during the week, but cheaper on weekends. If you are visiting during the week, then save your money and book the Comfort Inn in Herndon.

My wife and I only spent two days in DC and we are so happy we chose this hotel away from the congestion and high prices near the mall area. We paid the $4.50/day in the train station parking and paid the $7.50 All You Can Ride ticket (each) and saved on parking and worrying about the car. The Vienna station is a short ride, but the area you park your car is very safe.

The hotel has everything you need. Its clean and comfortable and I would recommend it to my mother!!

We booked via Hotwire and paid less than $90/night mid-week.

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable
  • Disliked — Distance to tourist areas, but train service nearby
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thea1209, Revenue Manager at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2008
Thank you for the response.
However the pictures posted on this review are not our hotel pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    42
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
23
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2007

A colleague and I stayed here for a week on business. Overall this is a very good hotel for business travelers, with the one exception of poor wifi access.

Location is good for flights through Dulles. I actually flew through another airport but had business near this hotel. Even so, it was fairly easy to get to, though I'd recommend having a map on hand if you're not familiar with the area.

The hotel was clean and the service was good. I noticed a workout room with at least one treadmill and weight machines - the equipment looked fairly new. The free continental breakfast was fine - nothing fancy, but about what you'd expect. I had a mini-fridge in my room, which is a plus for longer stays.

There are at least 3 restaurants literally next door to the hotel, which is handy if you don't want to drive around to find something. I believe there was a Papa John's pizza, an Outback Steakhouse, and a local Asian food restaurant all within a few feet of the hotel.

My only complaint about this hotel was that the wifi internet connection was so poor that I found it totally unusable. My guess is that they just don't have the setup necessary to support the number of users they have at peak times. If you absolutely must have internet access in your room, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BDub2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIHerndon, Manager at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2009
While our WiFi generally runs well, interference from networks in nearby buildings causes some problems. Because of this we are installing hard wired internet in all rooms which should be completed by April 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

This is a very clean, older midrange hotel at the east end of one of the main drags in Herndon, just off of the Fairfax County Parkway (7100) about 3/4 mile north of the Dulles Airport access toll road (267). The hotel is the anchor of a small retail center with several restaurants; there are many more restaurant and shopping options within a 10-minute walk west on Elden St. to downtown or south on Herndon Pkwy. toward the newer business park / mid-rise area closer to 267.
A continental breakfast was included; the breakfast area was spacious and kept clean and well-serviced. Front desk service was friendly and efficient. There was a single PC/printer setup in the lobby opposite the front desk - adequate for my purposes, but requiring an occasional short wait.
My king room was very spacious, with a large, separate alcove for the desk and office chair; there was room (in the "second bed" area) for a small dining table and chairs, but only one side chair was provided. The dresser/media cabinet included a DVD player with auxiliary hookups and a large, wall-mounted flatscreen TV. There was a mini-fridge inside the cabinet, but no microwave. Beds, bedding, furniture, fixtures, carpet, drapes, decor and finishes were clean and in good repair. The bathroon was large with new floor tile, solid surface counter, new fixtures, good water pressure and temperatures. Overall, it appeared the rooms had been renovated recently and kept up pretty well.
The lobby, corridors and public areas, by comparison, are clean and well-kept, but showing some age and in need of an update.
There is a large variation in rates quoted for this property (learned as I overheard front desk staff handling phone reservations while waiting in the lobby). This does not seem to be reflected at the Choice Hotels website; if you are looking to save money, you may do better to contact the property directly, especially if you are staying on a weekend. The price I paid was fair, at about a third less than the comparable rate for newer or more upscale options in Herndon or Reston; the property and location were just fine.

  • Liked — Good value for price, location convenient
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TANSTAAFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

This is a Comfort Inn in suburban Northern Virginia, and so my three star rating is not meant to compare it to higher value hotels. I am only trying to indicate that this is a pretty average two star hotel. It was perfectly clean, generally safe, well located and.... average. There is no reason to stay away, but I can't highlight anything about the hotel that was particularly exceptional. There's no reason to fear staying here, but there's no need to put it at the top of your list. It's a basic two star hotel. It seems to be in the middle of some sort of modest renovation, but presently, the decor and rooms are tired. Tired, and relatively inexpensive (for northern Virginia), so that may appeal to you...

  • Liked — The location is okay and near the Reston Town Center.
  • Disliked — There was nothing bad about this hotel... and nothing great.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmperorFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pond creek, oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2006

We stayed here for a week. The desk clerks were helpful, could answer questions about area. The shuttle service will take you to local shopping and the Dulles airport. Room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank remythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2006

I recently stayed in the Comfort Inn in Herndon Virginia with a group of kids/teenagers and found the staff to be very helpful from reservation through the check out. When I say staff I mean the main office staff and the front desk staff seemed available for questions and had solutions. I felt as if they were giving customer service that I don't always see anymore when shopping, dining or travelling. I will definitely recommend them to others and stay again if the need arises. Thank you for directing me to restaurants, schools, main roads, and back to my room when need be after a long day. The true complement was that they treated the kids as if they were as important as we the adults were. Again thank you from the :
Traveler with kids from western virginia

Helpful?
4 Thank bball22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 June 2006

I came into Dulles Airport and called the hotel for their FREE shuttle service. The van driver, I believe his name was Nick, was very polite and drove me to the hotel. Upon entering the hotel, I notice lovely sofas in the lobby. Wish I had them!! :) The clerk at the desk, Asja, was so friendly!! The entire hotel was spotless. I was able to use their wireless Internet service at NO CHARGE. That is unbelievable now-a-days! Their FREE breakfast was great. In the morning I got perfect directions from Pete and Tony. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
Address: 200 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport Hotel Herndon
Comfort Inn Herndon
Herndon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing