We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large suites, attentive staff and convenient location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Goochland, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Large suites, attentive staff and convenient location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I travel almost weekly for business and carry a Lifetime Platinum card-so I've stayed at my share of Marriott properties. The desk staff are attentive and most helpful. The rooms are all suites which offer a separate sleeping area, bathroom and sitting area and tv's in both the large sitting area/work area and bedroom area. I believe the rooms have been recently renovated so the furniture, bedding, carpet and decor is fairly new and fresh. The room was very clean and comfortable. Although there is no concierge lounge a free breakfast is provided to eligible Marriott club members. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of breakfast items and cook to order eggs. The dining area is quiet and well appointed with an adjoining bar. I did experience a few issues during my stay however. The music in the lobby is much to loud almost to be unbearable. I mentioned this to someone at the desk who said they would turn it down. Well, that did not happen. So, turn down the unwanted loud noise. It should only be heard quietly in the background. Some of the public areas such as the lobby, elevators and pool could be much cleaner. So, put some extra efforts here. Lastly, the new toiletries are offensive and almost noxious. All full service Marriott's have gone with this brand so I am forced to bring my own soaps and shampoo which is a absurd. Please go back to the previous brand. Stay in a higher floor, there are 11 floors and select and odd number room since the even number rooms face a major highway and you hear traffic noise. You will find a good selection of nearby restaurants as will as general shopping. The offer shuttle service to Dulles. This is a sister to the Dulles Airport Marriott. I've stayed at both on recommend the the Dulles Marriott Suites based on comfort and the proximity of local restaurants, shopping and services.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    125
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
78
66
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at this property several times over the last several years! Rooms are great! Plenty of room to move around in, and depending on your location within the hotel, some interesting views! Front desk staff are great and very pleasant and willing to help out if necessary. However, the area by the elevators could use some new lights to enhance that area on the main floor!

The breakfast buffet has lots of choices! However, this area could use some assistance in that it tends to be dark when there could be more light available.

Lots of stores close and movie theater make this a nice weekend get-away! While not close to DC, there are plenty of choices for visits, including the Air & Space Museum near a Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel used to be an ideal place to stay in Herndon, but the quality of stays gets worse each time. The hotel common areas are dirty. The lobby, the hallways, the gym.....it looks like they haven't even been vacuumed in months. The brass plates around the elevator buttons look like they haven't been wiped down in months (food, fingerprints, grease, and other nasties all over the place). There were dirty dishes from room service that stayed in the hallway for 4 days. I mentioned it to the front desk twice, and still it sat there.

The lobby entrance was full of garbage as the garbage cans were overflowing. It was really bad. This used to be a hotel that catered primarily to business people in the Herndon Tech Corridor. However, the last few times I've stayed, it has been overrun with out of town junior high and high school sports teams that trash the place, are noisy, and who run amock up and down the halls. They play loud music late at night, and in the morning the restaurant is so crowded for breakfast that the wait can be up to 30 minutes for a table. And by the time these sports teams (and their inattentive parents) get done with breakfast buffet, it looks like a disaster area.

On the positive....the suites are very nice, and are clean. Housekeeping did miss a few things (twice they took away dirty towels and left no replacement). But in general the rooms are clean. Also, the gentlemen who work in the restaurant at breakfast time are very pleasant and accommodating.

I am going to give the place one more try, and if it continues to get worse, I am going to switch to another Marriott property in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jafo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and everytime my stays have been pleasant. The hotel is closely located to IAD and runs a shuttle; however, if you intended on driving into DC on a daily basis then you should reconsider. Its perfectly located if will be staying in the Reston/Herndon/Sterling area.

The rooms are spacious and very clean; staff is curteous and facilities are clean. The hotel is located within a strip mall which a number of shops and a theater. Shops stay open until 10 so there are some food choices right below. Otherwise, there's really not much within walking distance.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tut4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for a few days here (in a longer trip). One person flew back from Dulles, so this was convenient (went with him on the shuttle and back to the hotel).

Very happy. Inexpensive. Good breakfast. Good desk staff.

A pleasure.

It was a little hard to find (if you've never been to it before) since it doesn't face a street (its in a small shopping center)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12martyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked a stay here because of the free parking and shuttle to the airport. Liked the layout and the room was clean and cozy. Will stay here whenever I need to fly out of Dulles. The price was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed four nights. We immediately were impressed with the management visibility in the lobby, welcoming guests -- many were repeat guests and were addressed by name. Again, a manager was in the lobby providing a farewell to departing guests. Nice touch. Check-in was smooth. Plenty of free parking. With Marriott Gold/Platinum status, we were provided complimentary breakfasts ($14.99 each regularly) from their wonderful buffet/made-to-order omelet station. This was truly the meal of the day for us. Also complimentary USA Today and Wall Street Journal.

The atmosphere is one of sophistication - not really a "family" facility. We actually saw very few children. Most guests and staff were international citizens and many languages were being spoken everywhere! The entire staff was extremely gracious and kind to us at all times. Housekeeping was discreet and very thorough.

The location is on a busy street and in a busy shopping area, somewhat tricky to find the front of the building. However, once inside, it is truly an urban oasis. Calmness, quiet voices and upscale atmosphere. The rooms are totally soundproof and we slept like babies!

We appreciated the kindness of the staff - front desk, housekeeping (5th floor), bartender and breakfast attendants.

We will be back and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the (distant) airport (even numbered rooms). You won't hear a thing and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckandNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Property: Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Address: 13101 Worldgate Dr, Herndon, VA 20170-4375
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Dulles Marriott Suites at Worldgate Centre is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, VA is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. This Herndon hotel is walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. When it comes to hotels near Dulles, the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing