We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick & Yummy”
Review of Thai Tada

Thai Tada
Ranked #22 of 225 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia Beach
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quick & Yummy”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just flew in to Dulles from overseas and needed a quick bite before crashing. This was just the spot! My wife ate light, soup and a veggie dish. I was hungry and went for their special duck. Wonderful! The crispness was terrific. Add to it prompt, friendly service and we were happy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KitVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best-Prepared Thai Duck Dishes Anywhere - DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Dined at Thai Tada with in-laws and we enjoyed the most amazing duck-themed meal ever! Though also available in non-spicy renditions, because all 3 of us at the table were duck lovers and spicy food enthusiasts, we ordered three duck courses, all very very spicy ("pet pet / pet mahk mahk / kode pet loi"). We started by sharing the duck salad (yum pet), our next course was duck noodle soup (guitieu pet), and we finished with the duck red curry (gang daeng pet).

The duck at Thai Tada is prepared in a multi-step process similar to the way that authentic carnitas is served in Mexican food. The inside is chewy and flavorful while the outside is somewhat crispy. This duck is not breaded and fried; rather, it is 100% delicious duck meat (all killer - no filler). If you love Thai food and/or if you enjoy well-prepared duck dishes, roll on over to Thai Tada and try the three course duck feast as mentioned above. Please post a comment or review let me know how that grabs ya'. I'll bet it gets ya' in a spot that makes your toes curl up ; D

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DogmaBites69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite Thai place”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We regularly drive past about a half dozen other decent Thai restaurants just to go to this place. Between the way they make us feel like long lost friends every time we walk in the door and the fact that they serve some of the tastiest crispy duck around, we keep coming back. Give it a try, they will take good care of you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Will Go Back”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My other half and I were promptly seated and handed menus for an early weekday dinner, and we were happy to see there were other patrons enjoying meals in the nicely decorated establishment. We are frequent Thai restaurant goers, and ordered the two items that we have never tried before - the Crying Tiger appetizer(sliced grilled beef with tangy dipping sauce) and Thai Tada entree (ground chicken with lemongrass, chilies, and basil). Drinks were heavily poured and delicious. Food came out timely, hot, and as order (requested "very spicy" on our entrees and boy were they!), with good sized portions. Excellent steamed rice. We did not have to wait long for our to-go entree we also ordered at the end of our meal. Overall service was very prompt, friendly, and attentive. It might not look like much from the outside, but it was a great experience and we look forward to going back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Went to Thai Tada today for lunch. Just wanted Thai food. I did a take out order of Pork Drunken Noodles Thai Hot. The people there were very nice, plenty of staff to help out. The food cost is reasonable and it was prepared very quick, under five minutes.

When I got back to my desk I opened it up and it was different then what I am used to. The noodles were broader and longer, the sauce was thin and light colored instead of thick and dark brown that I am used to. Portion size was good. Apparently the noodles must be done seperately because the meat, peppers and other ingredients were on top of them. You also had to use a knife to eat it because they were so long. The food was good, not as good as others but good and worth the price. Certainly worth another trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D4379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Tada also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Thai Tada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing